Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5564 (Six Skirts Made Easy) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1721 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:pharmercoon
photo
About pharmercoonstar
MS USA
Member since: 4/5/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/04 2:16 AM
Last Updated:7/18/04 5:04 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Spriggs said...
I love what you did with this pattern! Your copy looks better than the original, and the bais tape highlights the spirals beautifully!
7/17/04 10:30 AM
MsConnie said...
Ditto on the creativity! The dress looks good on you, and the little asides make for great reading. Adventurous sewing is always fun!
7/17/04 10:42 AM
Diana M said...
Great looking dress, congrats with the stick-to-it-iveness to keep redoing until you get what you want.
7/17/04 11:56 AM
Debbie Cook said...
How creative (and funny!) you are! I think the bias tape really adds a nice touch and shows off the lines of the dress. Just FYI ... the link for your project didn't work for me. But the link for the Moschino Jeans dress did and that's what got me in to see all the photos.
7/17/04 11:58 AM
Rebecca D said...
Sewing with Kay is a kick! The dress is lovely and I'm pretty sure redoing the bodice is easier and cheaper than a boob job.
7/17/04 12:05 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I like your dress even better than the NM one. It looks beautiful on you. Good job.
7/17/04 12:55 PM
candyo said...
Wow, that is so impressive! Isn't it fun copying RTW- kinda like you beat the system! Hope to see more of your reviews!
7/17/04 4:20 PM
LindaS. said...
I cannot see your project photo either, but you have piqued my curiosity enough that it's driving me a bit crazy. It certainly sounds beautiful!
7/17/04 5:01 PM
Hilary said...
your dress is AWESOME! I love the result, and the bias tape is just the thing to set it off. Great job, thanks for sharing!
7/17/04 6:10 PM
Doris Stewart said...
Beautiful fabric, the colours are wonderful. Love the dress - a Kay original!
7/17/04 6:45 PM
Levone said...
I love your dress!
7/17/04 9:03 PM
pharmercoon said...
Thanks everybody for the compliments. I have tried fixing the links and can't get them to work. Any suggestions on how to fix them?
7/17/04 9:22 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
What a fabulous dress - great lateral thinking to come up with a designer knock off! Thanks for your review too - it was most entertaining!
7/18/04 1:37 AM
valerie sews said...
I can't get the link for the picture of your finished dress either but I enjoyed your review and your creative process very much. Thank you.
7/18/04 4:05 AM
Lori V said...
Kay, love your dress. I agree it looks better than the original
7/18/04 7:20 AM
Debbie Cook said...
pharmercoon, since you joined Friends of PR you have webspace here for photos. Maybe you could put the main finished dress photo there, at least until the glitches with your other links are figured out. Sorry, I can't help with the other links.
7/18/04 11:59 AM
Amelie said...
Very creative and wonderful. The bias tape really makes it. Great review and thanks for all the photos of your dress -- they really help. The verdict with regard to sewing with Kay: ' Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler!'
7/18/04 6:27 PM
KimP said...
Excellent review, Kay! Informative and witty. I like your creativity and willingness to go outside the pattern. I can't see your dress, but I'd love to. Write more reviews!
7/19/04 8:30 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your dress is wonderful. I love the fabric choice for this style. I enjoyed reading your review, too! Great job.
7/19/04 8:58 AM
LindaS. said...
I can finally see your project photo and,agreeing with other posters, your dress is far better than the designer one because of setting off the asymmetrical bands with the bias tape. The way you put the whole thing together is so creative with a beautiful result.
7/19/04 10:19 AM
SandraB said...
LOL!! THanks for an informative and hilarious review. Love your dress. It is very flattering on you.
7/19/04 2:41 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love your very pretty dress and the review is so well written. Thanks for the review. Your dh sounds like mine! (A real nut!)
7/19/04 8:08 PM
JDpenelope said...
Magnificent obsession! You stuck with it until the design and fit were right (well, except for, you say, the bodice a bit--but it looks great to me). Thanks for the grins, esp the part about dh's "help" with the fitting!
7/21/04 5:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Christine Jonson 1010
photo
Review by GlobalMom on 5/10/11
Read Review

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4070
photo
Review by Annette Wr... on 10/30/09
Read Review

Vogue 8761 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 8761 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1777 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1777 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us