SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5564 (Six Skirts Made Easy)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1721 times 
Reviewed by:pharmercoon
photo

 
 
About pharmercoonstar
MS USA
Member since: 4/5/04
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/04 2:16 AM
Last Updated:7/18/04 5:04 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Spriggs said...
I love what you did with this pattern! Your copy looks better than the original, and the bais tape highlights the spirals beautifully!
7/17/04 10:30 AM
MsConnie said...
Ditto on the creativity! The dress looks good on you, and the little asides make for great reading. Adventurous sewing is always fun!
7/17/04 10:42 AM
Diana M said...
Great looking dress, congrats with the stick-to-it-iveness to keep redoing until you get what you want.
7/17/04 11:56 AM
Debbie Cook said...
How creative (and funny!) you are! I think the bias tape really adds a nice touch and shows off the lines of the dress. Just FYI ... the link for your project didn't work for me. But the link for the Moschino Jeans dress did and that's what got me in to see all the photos.
7/17/04 11:58 AM
Rebecca D said...
Sewing with Kay is a kick! The dress is lovely and I'm pretty sure redoing the bodice is easier and cheaper than a boob job.
7/17/04 12:05 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I like your dress even better than the NM one. It looks beautiful on you. Good job.
7/17/04 12:55 PM
candyo said...
Wow, that is so impressive! Isn't it fun copying RTW- kinda like you beat the system! Hope to see more of your reviews!
7/17/04 4:20 PM
LindaS. said...
I cannot see your project photo either, but you have piqued my curiosity enough that it's driving me a bit crazy. It certainly sounds beautiful!
7/17/04 5:01 PM
Hilary said...
your dress is AWESOME! I love the result, and the bias tape is just the thing to set it off. Great job, thanks for sharing!
7/17/04 6:10 PM
Doris Stewart said...
Beautiful fabric, the colours are wonderful. Love the dress - a Kay original!
7/17/04 6:45 PM
Levone said...
I love your dress!
7/17/04 9:03 PM
pharmercoon said...
Thanks everybody for the compliments. I have tried fixing the links and can't get them to work. Any suggestions on how to fix them?
7/17/04 9:22 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
What a fabulous dress - great lateral thinking to come up with a designer knock off! Thanks for your review too - it was most entertaining!
7/18/04 1:37 AM
valerie sews said...
I can't get the link for the picture of your finished dress either but I enjoyed your review and your creative process very much. Thank you.
7/18/04 4:05 AM
Lori V said...
Kay, love your dress. I agree it looks better than the original
7/18/04 7:20 AM
Debbie Cook said...
pharmercoon, since you joined Friends of PR you have webspace here for photos. Maybe you could put the main finished dress photo there, at least until the glitches with your other links are figured out. Sorry, I can't help with the other links.
7/18/04 11:59 AM
Amelie said...
Very creative and wonderful. The bias tape really makes it. Great review and thanks for all the photos of your dress -- they really help. The verdict with regard to sewing with Kay: ' Laissez Les Bons Temps Rouler!'
7/18/04 6:27 PM
KimP said...
Excellent review, Kay! Informative and witty. I like your creativity and willingness to go outside the pattern. I can't see your dress, but I'd love to. Write more reviews!
7/19/04 8:30 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your dress is wonderful. I love the fabric choice for this style. I enjoyed reading your review, too! Great job.
7/19/04 8:58 AM
LindaS. said...
I can finally see your project photo and,agreeing with other posters, your dress is far better than the designer one because of setting off the asymmetrical bands with the bias tape. The way you put the whole thing together is so creative with a beautiful result.
7/19/04 10:19 AM
SandraB said...
LOL!! THanks for an informative and hilarious review. Love your dress. It is very flattering on you.
7/19/04 2:41 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
I love your very pretty dress and the review is so well written. Thanks for the review. Your dh sounds like mine! (A real nut!)
7/19/04 8:08 PM
JDpenelope said...
Magnificent obsession! You stuck with it until the design and fit were right (well, except for, you say, the bodice a bit--but it looks great to me). Thanks for the grins, esp the part about dh's "help" with the fitting!
7/21/04 5:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1086

photo
by: julliams

Review
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Jalie 2796

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review

Pattern