Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2682 (Women's Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 513 times 67 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:EveS
photo
Friend of PR
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:3/2/11 11:59 PM
Last Updated:3/3/11 0:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
I love your sweater. It looks great but so comfortable.
3/3/11 1:53 AM
FreyaStark said...
A comfy, cosy top by the looks of it.
3/3/11 3:35 AM
Bonnie O said...
Very cute! Worth the tweak time.
3/3/11 6:03 AM
mssewcrazy said...
That looks really nice and a great basic for multiples now that you have it perfected.
3/3/11 7:36 AM
MNBarb said...
I might shed some light on that swayback issue. There is something about this top that causes it to be more pronounced. I think it's the curved yoke. I had to do a MAJOR swayback adjustment by taking a horizontal fisheye dart across the seam of the yoke. You're right Jalie has a super-small armscye and very fitted sleeves. This is not a problem caused by your body. Another reviewer had issues with the floppy back collar and I wonder if it's caused by the choice of fabric. When fleece is used the collar stands up but with your softer fabric it's probably more likely to be floppy. In the end, you made really great top that has a nice shape and looks better than RTW. As you say, it's a versatile pattern and you can see how that perfectionism plays out in the next trial. Enjoy your cozy sweater!
3/3/11 8:05 AM
GoSewGirl said...
Nice sweater top. I like this pattern too, but remembered another reviewer's similar comments about the back neck. It didn't bother me, but then again I used a heavy cotton lycra so it's hard to compare. Your top looks so nice that I'm getting this pattern out again for some more versions of my own!
3/3/11 8:21 AM
becca a said...
Your sweater looks so comfortable. I will have to make this top before the winter ends. Thanks for a great review!
3/3/11 8:30 AM
Christas said...
Very nice top! I probably NEED this pattern! I love the fabric you have chosen - so perfect and looks very comfy!
3/3/11 9:10 AM
RisaJ said...
Try folding down the collar in the back and it should make a cute little shawl collar effect in the front. I have made this pattern three times in three different fabrics and the neckline acts differently for all three depending on the fabric. Gives the top a different look - love this pattern. Now I need to try it in a heavier knit! Thanks for the review.
3/3/11 9:19 AM
KD in ATL said...
Great review! I have this pattern and wasn't happy with my first version - I should have lengthened the bodice as well. Your comments for adjustments will be very helpful when I made another version.
3/3/11 9:21 AM
Nan Kay said...
Great review. Your top looks great. I can see where the type of fabric changes it completely! One more Jalie I would like to try
3/3/11 11:01 AM
callmeRuth said...
Very nice! I like it made from the sweatshirt fabric. Great review.
3/3/11 2:29 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
You call this a four season top, but in my home the appearance of this top means Autumn has arrived! Love your version. Your hard work paid off!
3/3/11 11:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
You look SEW fabulous in your new Jalie top!
3/4/11 8:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-122 Dress
photo
Review by MissCelie on 2/27/12
Read Review

McCalls 6554 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6554 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4789 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 4789 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4150
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/21/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Pocket Purse
Lily Pocket Purse

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us