Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lady Boutique Magazine: darted sloper (Bunka-style sloper) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 472 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Seamingly Simple
photo
About Seamingly Simplestarstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/23/03
Reviews written: 133
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 100
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/3/11 11:23 PM
Last Updated:3/6/11 1:07 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheri said...
Wow your review is very interesting. The results look great. I have a hard enough time with English instructions LOL.
3/3/11 11:36 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fantastic review!! Thanks so much for reviewing this in such wonderful detail.
3/3/11 11:56 PM
becca a said...
Thanks for explaining this process. One day I'd like to try this, too, and I'll refer to your review. I'm curious to see what you make using this sloper.
3/4/11 7:40 AM
Kay Y said...
Coincidentally, today I'm wearing the jacket I drafted from MSB - reviewed on PR here: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=24458 I'll be interested in seeing the garment you draft.
3/4/11 1:37 PM
21wale said...
Excellent and informative review. You've reminded me to unearth the MSB sloper I've been working on. I look forward to seeing what you make...
3/4/11 10:10 PM
JillyBe said...
What an excellent piece of information - thank you for this :)
3/6/11 2:06 PM
FloraNature said...
What an interesting review! Coincidently, I'm working on my basic bodice sloper right now, and thinking how much like the new version of the Japanese sloper my own is - especially the armhole shape.
3/6/11 3:34 PM
Christas said...
So very interesting! Thank you so much for taking the time to do this very informative review.
3/6/11 8:21 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It seems that most people believe that you need to make Bunka's sloper in order to use Mrs Stylebook and such. Far from true! You need A sloper, any sloper as long as it fits you. Obtained by whichever method suits you best. Then you can draw from it following the pattern's instructions. Of course if you're short and sway-backed, the Bunka sloper may be a good place to start, as in your case. One obvious point of US/Japanese difference though is bust size. It looks like the Japanese sloper is meants for a closer-to-A cup. If you're more than that, you need to calculate what your full bust size would be if you were no more than a B cup (ie for a D cup I'd take off 2"=5cm) and use that to make an initial sloper. Then you can do an FBA to it. By this devious route you can get a sloper that fits you much better in the shoulders, chest, armhole etc.
3/9/11 10:30 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
This is superb information, fuzzygalore. Thank you for adding it here. Another use for one's personal sloper is to help choose which size to trace from a commercial pattern, particularly if it's a line you haven't worked with before.
3/9/11 10:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2219
photo
Review by JessicaFer... on 9/23/11
Read Review

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-108
photo
Review by Maree P on 1/25/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5626 Pattern( Size )
Butterick 5626 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us