SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5145 (Misses Coat)

23 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest
Viewed 625 times 
Reviewed by:otterine
photo

 
 
About otterinestar
IL USA
Member since: 12/3/07
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/11 5:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kat B. said...
Just beautiful! I agree about setting sleeves by hand. That seems to be a problem that I have run into with a few Butterick patterns. I always just set them by machine.
4/30/11 5:44 PM
3HoursPast said...
That's a really beautiful coat.
4/30/11 6:17 PM
Knitters Delight said...
What a classic, timeless coat. It looks great in the red and black, too.
4/30/11 7:18 PM
Camerio said...
A real beauty. Congratulations.
4/30/11 7:26 PM
Nancywin said...
Very nice. The red wool in my fabric cabinet is very jealous because it has been waiting for years to be made into a coat. I enjoyed looking through your photo stream.
4/30/11 8:26 PM
Nan Kay said...
you did a wonderful job with making this coat. The details of the coat and your striped lining are beautiful. I have always loved red coats!
4/30/11 9:51 PM
Aroura said...
Absolutely beautiful! You look very striking in this fabulous coat.
4/30/11 10:17 PM
Terri A said...
Very classic!
4/30/11 11:48 PM
Scheri said...
Absolutely beautiful coat. I am green with envy.
5/1/11 2:18 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Stunning coat! I love this red.
5/1/11 2:26 AM
pdiddly said...
Fantastic job and a timeless coat you should be very pleased with this.
5/1/11 3:11 AM
manola6176 said...
What a great coat. Very ladylike.
5/1/11 4:55 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Love your elegant red coat and particularly that it has contrast collar and buttons. So smart!
5/1/11 8:23 AM
carolynw said...
Elegant and beautiful - you did great work on this and it shows!!
5/1/11 9:33 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful coat! I love the color, the pleat, the contrast collar and buttons--lovely!
5/1/11 10:40 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
I really like what you did with the lining. A lot of work, but you will be so proud of yourself every time you wear it, as you should be. You did a lovely job on a timeless piece that should give you years of joy.
5/2/11 10:50 AM
waltzqueen said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely
5/2/11 5:43 PM
Erin D said...
It's really elegant. I'm sure you will get so much use out of it.
5/2/11 11:40 PM
Rosesred said...
beautifully finished coat. very foxy endresult
5/4/11 7:56 AM
otterine said...
Thank you all so much for your encouragement! :D
5/5/11 0:59 AM
KathleenS said...
Your effort with the stripes paid off. I love the lining.
5/5/11 8:10 AM
VintageBerry said...
Very beautiful and so Princess Kate! You did a wonderful job all around. Thank You for sharing.
5/5/11 3:03 PM
JillyBe said...
Classically stunning! What a great job matching up all of the lining stripes. Such a great job :)
5/5/11 3:36 PM
helenkosings said...
You did a tremendous job on this and the lining is OUTSTANDING!
5/5/11 4:42 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is fabulous -- a gorgeous classic coat.
5/5/11 9:33 PM
RachelV said...
What a beautiful coat! I love red, and the black contrast collar and snaps look great. Nice job!
5/5/11 10:07 PM
sfgb said...
Not only is the coat extremely beautiful and well-fitting, but the matched chevron stripes at the lining seams are a work of art. Congratulations!
5/10/11 8:39 PM
4u2cme said...
Truly a beautiful coat inside & outside.
5/12/11 11:23 AM
AnneM said...
What a gorgeous coat. Very classic and it looks great.
5/13/11 9:03 PM
Margaret said...
Lovely work on this coat, congratulations!
5/14/11 4:40 AM
Paris75008 said...
It's absolutely beautiful. Such beautiful sewing. Looks like it came from a top designer. Well done
5/15/11 9:54 AM
MollyApple said...
Handsetting sleeves is a couture thing, like you I usually ignore that and use the machine! You put so much work into this coat but it looks incredible, inside and out!
9/15/11 10:04 PM
otterine said...
Thank you, everyone! :D Cooler weather is finally here, and I get to wear the coat!
10/27/11 5:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Simplicity 2501

photo
by: SewLonnie

Review
Vogue Patterns 8749

photo
by: Joyatee

Review
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now