SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5145 (Misses Coat)

23 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest
Viewed 629 times 
Reviewed by:otterine
photo

 
 
About otterinestar
IL USA
Member since: 12/3/07
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/11 5:37 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
otterine said...
Thank you, everyone! :D Cooler weather is finally here, and I get to wear the coat!
10/27/11 5:06 PM
MollyApple said...
Handsetting sleeves is a couture thing, like you I usually ignore that and use the machine! You put so much work into this coat but it looks incredible, inside and out!
9/15/11 10:04 PM
Paris75008 said...
It's absolutely beautiful. Such beautiful sewing. Looks like it came from a top designer. Well done
5/15/11 9:54 AM
Margaret said...
Lovely work on this coat, congratulations!
5/14/11 4:40 AM
AnneM said...
What a gorgeous coat. Very classic and it looks great.
5/13/11 9:03 PM
4u2cme said...
Truly a beautiful coat inside & outside.
5/12/11 11:23 AM
sfgb said...
Not only is the coat extremely beautiful and well-fitting, but the matched chevron stripes at the lining seams are a work of art. Congratulations!
5/10/11 8:39 PM
RachelV said...
What a beautiful coat! I love red, and the black contrast collar and snaps look great. Nice job!
5/5/11 10:07 PM
Vintage Joan said...
This is fabulous -- a gorgeous classic coat.
5/5/11 9:33 PM
helenkosings said...
You did a tremendous job on this and the lining is OUTSTANDING!
5/5/11 4:42 PM
JillyBe said...
Classically stunning! What a great job matching up all of the lining stripes. Such a great job :)
5/5/11 3:36 PM
VintageBerry said...
Very beautiful and so Princess Kate! You did a wonderful job all around. Thank You for sharing.
5/5/11 3:03 PM
KathleenS said...
Your effort with the stripes paid off. I love the lining.
5/5/11 8:10 AM
otterine said...
Thank you all so much for your encouragement! :D
5/5/11 0:59 AM
Rosesred said...
beautifully finished coat. very foxy endresult
5/4/11 7:56 AM
Erin D said...
It's really elegant. I'm sure you will get so much use out of it.
5/2/11 11:40 PM
waltzqueen said...
Lovely, lovely, lovely
5/2/11 5:43 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
I really like what you did with the lining. A lot of work, but you will be so proud of yourself every time you wear it, as you should be. You did a lovely job on a timeless piece that should give you years of joy.
5/2/11 10:50 AM
becca a said...
What a beautiful coat! I love the color, the pleat, the contrast collar and buttons--lovely!
5/1/11 10:40 AM
carolynw said...
Elegant and beautiful - you did great work on this and it shows!!
5/1/11 9:33 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Love your elegant red coat and particularly that it has contrast collar and buttons. So smart!
5/1/11 8:23 AM
manola6176 said...
What a great coat. Very ladylike.
5/1/11 4:55 AM
pdiddly said...
Fantastic job and a timeless coat you should be very pleased with this.
5/1/11 3:11 AM
Kitty Couture said...
Stunning coat! I love this red.
5/1/11 2:26 AM
Scheri said...
Absolutely beautiful coat. I am green with envy.
5/1/11 2:18 AM
Terri A said...
Very classic!
4/30/11 11:48 PM
Aroura said...
Absolutely beautiful! You look very striking in this fabulous coat.
4/30/11 10:17 PM
Nan Kay said...
you did a wonderful job with making this coat. The details of the coat and your striped lining are beautiful. I have always loved red coats!
4/30/11 9:51 PM
Nancywin said...
Very nice. The red wool in my fabric cabinet is very jealous because it has been waiting for years to be made into a coat. I enjoyed looking through your photo stream.
4/30/11 8:26 PM
Camerio said...
A real beauty. Congratulations.
4/30/11 7:26 PM
Knitters Delight said...
What a classic, timeless coat. It looks great in the red and black, too.
4/30/11 7:18 PM
3HoursPast said...
That's a really beautiful coat.
4/30/11 6:17 PM
Kat B. said...
Just beautiful! I agree about setting sleeves by hand. That seems to be a problem that I have run into with a few Butterick patterns. I always just set them by machine.
4/30/11 5:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 9966

photo
by: queenlathe...

Review
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2339

photo
by: MegWight

Review