SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2209 

55 more reviews
Viewed 830 times 
Reviewed by:MerryDay
photo

 
 
About MerryDaystar
TX United States
Member since: 6/15/10
Reviews: 11 (patterns: 11)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/11 1:13 AM
Last Updated:3/9/11 5:58 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
lacroise1 said... (3/14/11 5:53 PM) Reply
I love your dress... I want to sew this pattern.. When I first saw this pattern at the store... the styling was so meh on the cover, I didn't think it would turn out so darn cute. Thanks for your review.
MerryDay said... (3/11/11 1:36 PM) Reply
Thanks for the comments everyone! Glad the review was helpful!

Christas, I honestly didn't find that the pattern was small, though I'd heard that as well. I would say that the pattern was more typical of RTW garments, however - there's just less ease in the design and the end result fits a little closer to the body. I went with the same size I always do with Simplicity patterns and it worked perfectly - better fitting than most, actually. Good luck with your own version and extra thanks for stopping by my blog!! :)

Christas said... (3/11/11 10:51 AM) Reply
Thanks so much for your review! I actually purchased all four of the new Lisette patterns at the Jo-Ann's sale yesterday. Your dress turned out so nice. I enjoyed your blog too and have bookmarked it. How did you find the sizing? I had heard that they run much smaller than Simplicity normally runs.
cabrewer82 said... (3/10/11 9:52 AM) Reply
Stunning dress! I love you use of colors and this is definitely your most flattering piece! I was also happy to see the white/navy pique used! Great job!
becca a said... (3/10/11 8:03 AM) Reply
What a lovely dress! Lucky you to have a source of pique prints and colors. I have been curious about the Lisette line of patterns; thanks for the excellent review.
Paris75008 said... (3/10/11 4:23 AM) Reply
That's a really cute dress. I love your fabric choices. You should be on the cover of the Simplicity pattern instead of the awful fabrics they choose. I glossed over this pattern because they manage to make the cutest styles look horrible. I guess I should look at the line drawings!
Knitters Delight said... (3/9/11 8:51 PM) Reply
Beautiful fabric. I love the styling too.
sewtime said... (3/9/11 7:31 PM) Reply
Pretty, love the fabric and looks great on!!
SewWil said... (3/9/11 2:29 PM) Reply
Very cute skirt!
Red Curtain said... (3/9/11 12:43 PM) Reply
You have made me want to sew this pattern too! It is such a great looking dress on you. I love the unique cross darting on the front and the pique. Thanks for the fantastic review.
lakaribane said... (3/9/11 7:29 AM) Reply
Seriously cute! I"m just dying for piqué prints but can't find them locally! Thanks for the review, love the dress and the styling. I do believe you are right, this dress has great TNT potential!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Simplicity 6208

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Victory Madeleine Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details