SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2209 

54 more reviews
Viewed 824 times 
Reviewed by:MerryDay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MerryDaystar
TX United States
Member since: 6/15/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/11 1:13 AM
Last Updated:3/9/11 5:58 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lacroise1 said...
I love your dress... I want to sew this pattern.. When I first saw this pattern at the store... the styling was so meh on the cover, I didn't think it would turn out so darn cute. Thanks for your review.
3/14/11 5:53 PM
MerryDay said...
Thanks for the comments everyone! Glad the review was helpful!

Christas, I honestly didn't find that the pattern was small, though I'd heard that as well. I would say that the pattern was more typical of RTW garments, however - there's just less ease in the design and the end result fits a little closer to the body. I went with the same size I always do with Simplicity patterns and it worked perfectly - better fitting than most, actually. Good luck with your own version and extra thanks for stopping by my blog!! :)
3/11/11 1:36 PM

Christas said...
Thanks so much for your review! I actually purchased all four of the new Lisette patterns at the Jo-Ann's sale yesterday. Your dress turned out so nice. I enjoyed your blog too and have bookmarked it. How did you find the sizing? I had heard that they run much smaller than Simplicity normally runs.
3/11/11 10:51 AM
cabrewer82 said...
Stunning dress! I love you use of colors and this is definitely your most flattering piece! I was also happy to see the white/navy pique used! Great job!
3/10/11 9:52 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! Lucky you to have a source of pique prints and colors. I have been curious about the Lisette line of patterns; thanks for the excellent review.
3/10/11 8:03 AM
Paris75008 said...
That's a really cute dress. I love your fabric choices. You should be on the cover of the Simplicity pattern instead of the awful fabrics they choose. I glossed over this pattern because they manage to make the cutest styles look horrible. I guess I should look at the line drawings!
3/10/11 4:23 AM
Knitters Delight said...
Beautiful fabric. I love the styling too.
3/9/11 8:51 PM
sewtime said...
Pretty, love the fabric and looks great on!!
3/9/11 7:31 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute skirt!
3/9/11 2:29 PM
Red Curtain said...
You have made me want to sew this pattern too! It is such a great looking dress on you. I love the unique cross darting on the front and the pique. Thanks for the fantastic review.
3/9/11 12:43 PM
lakaribane said...
Seriously cute! I"m just dying for piqué prints but can't find them locally! Thanks for the review, love the dress and the styling. I do believe you are right, this dress has great TNT potential!
3/9/11 7:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

More Info