SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2311 (Misses' & Miss Petite Coats)

17 more reviews
Review submitted in Lined Jacket Contest
Viewed 745 times 
Reviewed by:snuzal
photo

 
 
About snuzalstar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 7/7/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/11 2:17 AM
Last Updated:3/9/11 3:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
Love it! You did a great job! My fav pic is the one with the sun! Nora :)
3/9/11 6:29 AM
Scheryka said...
Snuzel, you always do great items. Your coats are always cute and snazzy. This one is no different. Great job.
3/9/11 6:30 AM
Ecrulace said...
Well done - love the lining!
3/9/11 7:18 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Wonderful coat. I love the textured fabric. Congratulations on your first FBA. It won't take hours the next time.
3/9/11 7:28 AM
DreinPA said...
It's not Simplicity in general; its those stupid Project Runway patterns. So many options they have you back and forth with yardage and directions. Fabulous fabric and the FBA looks right on track.
3/9/11 8:19 AM
fourkid said...
What a lovely coat - and you got a great fit. It looks very nice. Love the fabric - and your garden!
3/9/11 8:55 AM
sewtime said...
Love your coat!
3/9/11 9:24 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Snuzel it would be such a shame not to make it again with the alterations nearly perfect. I mean this fits great and I'm a stickler for fit. If you make it again, it will be much easier since you've already done it once, you might not even need to consult the instructions so much. Also, why don't you get a really good reference book on lined jackets and just follow that instead? This coat looks great from the front and back, something you probably couldn't find in ready-to-wear.
3/9/11 9:43 AM
cindyann said...
Nice work!
3/9/11 10:09 AM
sunnysewer said...
wow, fantastic coat. great job on the alterations, love the fabric and looks very chic on you.
3/9/11 12:04 PM
JTink said...
Beautiful coat. I had the Puffy Breast Syndrome for a while and kept pinning and stitching it out, until one day, it dawned on me that my bust point was lower than the pattern's. Just for kicks, lower your bust point before you do your next FBA and then do the FBA. Might get rid of the PBS.
3/9/11 12:32 PM
snuzal said...
Thank you everyone for the kind comments. Good to know it's the Project Runway patterns, will veer away from them next time. Showed the pattern instructions to someone while in the process, I laughed when she said "project runaway", it was just what I wanted to do at that step too! LOL. I'll look at getting a jacket book too, I do enjoy making coats, and I love the idea of making a new one each year for myself. And will check lowering the bust point on the pattern and see if that helps too. Thanks!
3/9/11 1:13 PM
AdaH said...
great fitting coat. congrats on your first FBA. PBS...never heard that before, but have had it.
3/9/11 1:17 PM
sewing addict said...
Great looking coat. Well done.
3/9/11 1:51 PM
SewWil said...
Great coat!!! Good fit. Looks very nice on you.
3/9/11 2:00 PM
Lori V said...
Wonderful coat
3/9/11 2:56 PM
cleverkitty said...
looks great on you
3/9/11 4:52 PM
becca a said...
What a lovely coat! I love the tone on tone houndstooth fabric. Your garden is beautiful, and looks magical with the sun streaming down.
3/10/11 7:55 AM
Woolygal said...
Don't be too critical. The coat is very nicely done. I really like your fabric.
3/10/11 9:05 AM
lucylal said...
Great coat!! The fit looks fabulous! Love the sun shot too!!
3/26/11 11:23 PM
helenkosings said...
Terrific. And it suits you very well.
4/5/11 0:01 AM
barebear said...
Aw, I remember seeing this when you first posted it on your blog, and I still love it. Looks so good on you! Congrats on a fab jacket! (I feel your pain about the fba's, though. The one I tried doing wound up to be too much too. I think there's a secret trick I haven't figured out yet!)
4/29/11 6:06 PM
manola6176 said...
Very nice. The fabric is so classy. Very good choice for the flashing lining.
5/1/11 5:39 AM
Aroura said...
Great looking coat, love the collar! I think you did fantastic on the fit, and it looks very very wearable.
5/1/11 3:17 PM
helenkosings said...
This turned out really well. It looks great on you!
5/5/11 5:12 PM
JudyP said...
Tres chic! wonderful job! Your coat looks great on you!
5/6/11 7:02 AM
bananaoil said...
Looks great on you, love the lining. Go ahead and make it again but check out another source for construction, maybe from another pattern, or reorder the instructions from this pattern. Most tops go together pretty much the same way. From here I don't see why this one shouldn't follow a typical shawl collar construction plan. When you've done the work to make a pattern fit, get the most out of it.
5/6/11 1:45 PM
Kayseri said...
I love this coat. Great match of fabric to pattern and it looks terrific on you.
5/8/11 0:20 AM
GinormicaMG said...
Love this style! Stylish and yet causual enought to dress up or down. Nice job.
5/9/11 4:00 PM
sewmytime said...
fantastic work!
5/10/11 6:11 AM
snuzal said...
Thanks everyone! We've had some warmer weather here the past few weeks, so haven't worn it. But todays been on the cooler side, so threw it on and I must've lost a bit of weight, it seems a wee bit loose on me now *sobs* but still looks fab. It's such a comfortable jacket.
5/10/11 11:03 PM
Margaret said...
Nicely done! I love the dramatic collar, lining, and wide front facings. Looks great on you!
5/14/11 5:35 AM
VelmaVance said...
I really like the proportions on this coat; it really suits you. Well done!
5/14/11 2:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now