Online Sewing Class: Sewing Basics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 970 (loose-fitting pant)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1966 times 
Reviewed by:Tini
photo

 
 
About Tinistarstarstar
GERMANY
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 123 (patterns: 114)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/04 4:47 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Julia Graham said... (10/21/04 9:46 AM) Reply
Tini, you and I have the same lower-body type (I've used Jalie too and have that same size-gap from U to X between waist and hip) so your reviews are always helpful to me. One thing that has helped me tremendously with fitting pants (and I haven't yet reviewed the pairs I've done this on) is a curved (also called contour) waistband. If the waistband is wider than usual (like 2-3 inches) it works even better. I slice the waistband from top to bottom on each half, left and right, and overlap a 1/4 inch or more at the top only, leaving the bottom edge its original size so it still fits onto the top of the back pants piece. I _also_ do what I think you're describing, taking out sometimes as much as 2 inches at the center back waist seam, but the slash-and-overlap approach to the waistband really helps it fit in around my sway back. I'll keep watching for your pant reviews!
Vibek said... (7/26/04 5:30 AM) Reply
Good job! I agree with you on the back pockets. Why not trace of a pocket you like from another pair of jeans? You dont even have to use any of your own jeans for that ...
SandraB said... (7/25/04 10:11 PM) Reply
Love your jeans Tini. I Think they look really good on you. Thanks for a very informative review.
SouthernStitch said... (7/25/04 8:33 PM) Reply
Thanks so much for this informative review. I may have to try these since they run so big!
Lorna C. Newman said... (7/25/04 6:38 PM) Reply
Tini, have you read the last issue of Threads? I think Peggy Sagers did an article on fixing that area of the back. I have not rried it on my jeans as the issue came after I had them cut out! But I may have to try it on the next pair of pants!
Debbie Cook said... (7/25/04 2:28 PM) Reply
Tini, whatever problems you were having, it looks like you overcame them. The jeans look great.
Levone said... (7/25/04 1:33 PM) Reply
Great job on your jeans. They look good on you.
Karla Kizer said... (7/25/04 11:00 AM) Reply
"a more female figure with energy reserves at the hip " LOL. I LOVE it! I'm not fat, I'm a natural resource! Tini, the jeans look great and you deserve a lot of credit for sticking with the project when you encountered the fitting problems. For those of us who are too cowardly to attempt making all the changes necessary, may I recommend Jalie 968 - a slightly lowrise cut with either straight or bootcut (Jalie describes it both ways). 968 has far less ease in the hip (3/4", I think) but still has the great Jalie crotch draft - best I've ever used. When I used 968 to make shorts for DD, I went up a size for a roomier fit, and they still fit and looked great.
Hilary said... (7/25/04 10:40 AM) Reply
Great job on your jeans, Tini! I am having the same problem with baggy rear pants :oP I am going to go w/ Nancy Zieman's Fitting Finesse book's recommendations to go down 2 sizes from your hip measurement and just increase at the hip and waist if needed. I have made pants using her method before and they fit beautifully, but this time I used PFRP and they're way too big. Maybe you can find a copy, she uses the pivot and slide method which is really easy, I think. Good luck with your next pair! (btw, I think these look good on you).
cindyann said... (7/25/04 10:28 AM) Reply
Thanks for this review Tini. I've looked at that pattern a few time. Thanks for the tips. Considering your problems with sizing you got a nice looking pair of jeans.
drsue said... (7/25/04 9:06 AM) Reply
Thanks for the warnings on this pattern. I own it to and have a similar figure so you comments will be very helpful.
Mollykat said... (7/25/04 8:40 AM) Reply
Gret review! Thanks for the fitting advice for these jeans.
Linda E. said... (7/25/04 8:36 AM) Reply
great job on the jeans. I have this pattern I had big plans for it just don't find enough time to get to it.
els said... (7/25/04 8:22 AM) Reply
Tini, you did a great job to alter the jeans to fit you very nice.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6552

photo
by: Corkypompo...

Review
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details
Burda 8379

photo
by: tr1c14

Review