SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4517 

18 more reviews
Viewed 1299 times 
Reviewed by:Elaine Penney
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elaine Penneystar
MI USA
Member since: 11/25/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/04 4:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Penney said...
Sherril - that was my first attempt, obviously the simplest method. However, with the rayon/lycra being quite slippery, I just wasn't able to make the elastic follow the seam line. The fabric kept sliding from one side or the other. Thus, the gyrations. Have you made this top? I hesitated because I thought it would not be age appropriate, but I've received a lot of compliments on it. It turned out to be quite flattering on my "mature and almost, but not quite, plus" figure.
8/15/04 8:57 AM
eleda said...
Elaine your top looks really pretty. I have been procrastinating about making this top because the neckline looked low. But, seeing your finished version it is not too low.
8/14/04 8:23 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Elaine, I'm glad I didn't miss your review. What a flattering top. I've made this type and instead of the gathering I just used a piece of clear elastic the length I needed the gathers to wind up and stitched it to the seam. Gathers without the fuss and no fear of threads breaking.
8/14/04 7:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad you reviewed this pattern. I would have probably just passed over it because it looks like it is for the very young. But seeing it made up and worn by a more seasoned person like myself, I think I may have to give this further thought. Both versions of your top look very good on you but my favorite is the red, but then red is one of my favorite colors also.
7/29/04 5:55 PM
Rebecca D said...
Hey there Elaine, the top looks great. And so do you. I can tell you all that Elaine has a youthful aura about her and agree that this top suits her in all ways --Rebecca in TC
7/29/04 5:39 AM
Schnauzer said...
Elaine, Your top is really lovely. I agree with the other ladies. It suits you.
7/28/04 10:10 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
My first reaction was how youthful looking that top is. Bravo, I love it! Go ahead and get "carried away", it looks great on you!
7/28/04 6:32 PM
alicia said...
It looks wonderful on you.
7/28/04 5:51 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top is so pretty on you. Thanks for the review.
7/28/04 5:35 PM
Levone said...
I love this one also!
7/28/04 4:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Simplicity 2315

photo
by: globalgran

Review
PR Member's Pattern Haltertop Hussy

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

More Info
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

More Info