Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4517 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1298 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Elaine Penney
photo
Friend of PR
About Elaine Penneystar
MI USA
Member since: 11/25/03
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/04 4:14 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
I love this one also!
7/28/04 4:49 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top is so pretty on you. Thanks for the review.
7/28/04 5:35 PM
alicia said...
It looks wonderful on you.
7/28/04 5:51 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
My first reaction was how youthful looking that top is. Bravo, I love it! Go ahead and get "carried away", it looks great on you!
7/28/04 6:32 PM
Schnauzer said...
Elaine, Your top is really lovely. I agree with the other ladies. It suits you.
7/28/04 10:10 PM
Rebecca D said...
Hey there Elaine, the top looks great. And so do you. I can tell you all that Elaine has a youthful aura about her and agree that this top suits her in all ways --Rebecca in TC
7/29/04 5:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Glad you reviewed this pattern. I would have probably just passed over it because it looks like it is for the very young. But seeing it made up and worn by a more seasoned person like myself, I think I may have to give this further thought. Both versions of your top look very good on you but my favorite is the red, but then red is one of my favorite colors also.
7/29/04 5:55 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Elaine, I'm glad I didn't miss your review. What a flattering top. I've made this type and instead of the gathering I just used a piece of clear elastic the length I needed the gathers to wind up and stitched it to the seam. Gathers without the fuss and no fear of threads breaking.
8/14/04 7:08 PM
eleda said...
Elaine your top looks really pretty. I have been procrastinating about making this top because the neckline looked low. But, seeing your finished version it is not too low.
8/14/04 8:23 PM
Elaine Penney said...
Sherril - that was my first attempt, obviously the simplest method. However, with the rayon/lycra being quite slippery, I just wasn't able to make the elastic follow the seam line. The fabric kept sliding from one side or the other. Thus, the gyrations. Have you made this top? I hesitated because I thought it would not be age appropriate, but I've received a lot of compliments on it. It turned out to be quite flattering on my "mature and almost, but not quite, plus" figure.
8/15/04 8:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Butterick 5526 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Handshake on 1/22/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2327
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 10/4/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us