Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8218 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 377 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:BJ1400
photo
About BJ1400starstarstar
WV USA
Member since: 10/29/03
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 146
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/2/11 8:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $6.71 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $6.71  List Price: $8.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for reviewing this! Your blouse is lovely -- I'm sorry the fit isn't quite right yet. I made a Burda blouse a while back and had what sounds like a similar issue (the armscye seam was too low).
4/2/11 8:47 PM
katlew03 said...
Your blouse looks really nice. Too bad the fit is off. It looks like a great pattern.
4/2/11 8:59 PM
frame said...
It is a pretty blouse and I like the pattern. I'm sorry it didn't work for you.
4/2/11 9:56 PM
MNBarb said...
I like the shaped of this blouse. I hope you can figure out the fit issue and make it again.
4/2/11 10:01 PM
Rhoda K said...
I agree with the others - very pretty blouse. Maybe you can work out the proper fit. I love red, too ;-)
4/2/11 10:15 PM
loti said...
I love the print, very cute blouse.
4/2/11 10:48 PM
Scheri said...
I think the blouse is a success. The print looks nice.
4/2/11 11:48 PM
carolynw said...
It's a pretty blouse - am sorry it didn't work out for you
4/2/11 11:51 PM
jannw said...
Hope you can work out the fit issues..love the shawl collar and you did a great job on the rounded fronts!
4/3/11 0:50 AM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry this pattern didn't work for you. I've made it twice, and found that it needs precise fit in the shoulders, neck and bust. If it's too long between the shoulders and bust, try a horizontal fold along the extension lines above the bust - I didn't notice them at first, but they are there and they are useful. (Folding out length there will also raise the height of the front opening.) I love your fabric!
4/3/11 2:49 AM
persevering said...
Hi - Thanks for posting and explaining the issues, which can help other sewists. Special thanks to comments from FreyaStark, who has shared here and so much, so many times, from her experience ... thanks Joan1954, for sharing your comments too. BJ1400, looks like you are very close to getting a better fit...Hoping you'll also enjoy this lovely blouse too.
4/3/11 1:04 PM
MamaSewing said...
Your top looks beautiful - hope you can get the fitting worked out!
4/4/11 12:30 PM
cerulean said...
Thanks for reviewing this. I've had the pattern, but, I haven't sewn it yet!
4/7/11 12:18 PM
Julia C said...
Thank you BJ1400 & FreyaStark for reviewing this pattern& also finding it long between the shoulder & bust area. I have now removed all of the above bust length I added & may also decrease on the above bust/ sleeve markings to raise the bustpoint & shorten the armscye if it still needs it on muslin #3. . This is an alteration I rarely need. So far, except for the upper body length, the fit is great with present alterations.
6/26/13 9:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2553 Car Organizers
photo
Review by JTink on 11/29/13
Read Review

Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3545 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3545 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3513
photo
Review by JewelLaver... on 7/8/09
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us