SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7545 (Misses Tops)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1776 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/04 9:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew it seams said...
Very cute top! It looks great on you. I have some onionskin in my stash and every time I pick it up, I put it back down for "later". I've got a phobia after reading so many reviews about how difficult it is to work with. Your hems look great this way.
7/30/04 10:38 PM
Oziroo said...
Looks great. Brilliantly rescued!
7/30/04 10:52 PM
Elona said...
Terrific-looking top! I didn't notice the whitish patch, BTW, and would not have without its being pointed out. I think it's similar to when you've been writing a long paper or something, and all of a sudden the word "and" starts to look wrong to you, because you've been at it so long. A little perspective, or another reader, and presto--the word (or white patch) is fine.
7/30/04 10:58 PM
Levone said...
Cute top and fabric!
7/30/04 11:36 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking top - oh to be that size again - hehehe
7/30/04 11:36 PM
alicia said...
It looks great and fits you so well. Nice work!
7/30/04 11:47 PM
jlg said...
I wish this pattern was still available. It is great looking. I agree with you about onionskin. It is more trouble than it is worth; I much prefer buttermilk.
7/31/04 5:26 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Unintentional improvement: that CF stripe of color directs the eye toward your face. The serged hems are so RTW and cute. Onionskin may also resemble P. Hilton: has a tendency to be revealing. But your top isn't. Bravo!
7/31/04 6:15 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Great review, pretty top!
7/31/04 6:55 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
I'm always impressed with the perfect fit you achieve, Sue.
7/31/04 7:18 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That's a lovely top! I didn't notice the white patch until you called it to my attention. It's not at all distracting. The fit and fabric are perfect!
7/31/04 7:41 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your top looks great. I want this pattern but unfortunately as you indicate it is out of print and I have not been lucky enough to find it in my size. I really like the look and glad you shared your problems with onionskin as Ihave some I want to make up but will keep in mind it might create some difficulty.
7/31/04 7:46 AM
AnneM said...
Look OK? It looks fantastic! I'm tempted to get some fabric like that, despite it's dificulties. Great top. I just saw tops with this neckline (but solid colors) in the Isabella Bird catalog. (P.S. I bought that skirt pattern because of your review, although I haven't made it yet.)
7/31/04 8:00 AM
mudcat said...
The top looks good on you. And, the print looks fine (I didn't notice the white patch even after you pointed it out).
7/31/04 10:48 AM
mag said...
That is a creative choice and it looks great with the denim skirt. I like the serged finish on the hem and sleeves too. Very nice job.
7/31/04 11:11 AM
SewTabby said...
Wow. That is a lovely top. As far as the print goes, the front looks beqautiful. It's a bold part of the print, and at first glance I thought that was how you had intended it all along.
7/31/04 11:25 AM
cindyann said...
I love that top! Much better than "okay".
7/31/04 11:50 AM
Teri said...
Your top is so cute and it looks great with your skirt. Well done!
7/31/04 3:30 PM
drsue said...
Thaks for the compliments. I guess I'll stop being self consious about the white patch. For those interested in this pattern: you might try contacting Vogue to see if they have any leftovers. It's a fairly recent pattern. For those interested in this style, McCall's 4517 has an off-to-the side shirred V-neck tee (view E).
7/31/04 3:30 PM
Neefer said...
Very cute top. I didn't notice the vertical stripe until you pointed it out.
8/9/04 10:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review