Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1152 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 619 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:cakehole
photo
About cakeholestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/22/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/11 7:02 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Fabulous dress and I'm so sorry it won't find its way out of your closet as it looks great on you. Interesting seams
4/17/11 10:10 AM
marec said...
That is beautiful! Your review answered a few of my particular sewing Q-thanks :-) I'm sorry the top is disintegrating...looking forward to seeing your next review.
4/17/11 10:50 AM
Levone said...
Pretty top!
4/17/11 11:06 AM
Aroura said...
It really is too bad the seams are tearing, it is a very pretty top. I know your next version will be even better, for the lessons learned though!
4/17/11 11:15 AM
Gelbean said...
I love everything about your top! The neckline and color are fabulous. However, the tearing is awful. I wish I had some advise for you. I'm sure your next version will a total success.
4/17/11 7:49 PM
annie1129 said...
Fabulous!! Sorry to hear the top is disintegrating.
4/17/11 11:39 PM
Nancy in A2 said...
Your top is very pretty. I love it at tunic length. The neckline has plenty of room; perhaps you can add a side seam zipper. Many years ago, I was taught to not use thread that was stronger than the fabric when sewing delicate items. The point is to have the thread break before the fabric rips. I would use a 60 wt cotton thread for fine silk.
4/18/11 11:35 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely top! It is a great color. Could you put in a zipper after the fact to salvage the top?
4/18/11 6:09 PM
stsimon said...
I just did some mending on a crepe de chine thrift-shop dress of my daughter's, so I could see that the weave makes it a delicate fabric liable to pull (as at your seams) or snag. A recent article in Threads about silk thread said that it is a myth that silk thread is too strong. Pulling on the seams when you put it over your head is causing the fabric to separate. Just add a zipper; my advice is to hand-sew one in with small back stitches which are really strong. And if you add underlining to the section where the fabric is pulled, it won't be noticeable.
6/3/11 8:58 AM
mesewlot said...
I'm making this pattern,and my major concern is that it is going to be too roomy. You said that you cut a size down from what's recommended, which is what I planned to do. Did this work for you?
6/5/11 11:03 PM
cakehole said...
Thanks for all the suggestions as to the pulling - I will definitely put a zip in next time. Stsimon, that's really interesting about the silk thread. And Mesewlot, yes, I would definitely go down a size on this pattern.
6/24/11 5:15 AM
Lexley said...
This pattern is very similar to a dress I already own but instead of the front and back gathered pieces mine has single rows of stitched thin elastic which really is very comfy to wear. Elastic will also eliminate the need for a zipper. I am now going to make this and will follow your suggestions about the gaping neckline and will use bias binding (no facing) on the neckline and small cap sleeves(no cuffs). I am also going to use a 100% bamboo cotton fabric which will drape and wear well. Thanks for your excellent tips.....
1/26/12 8:48 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2648 Misses
photo
Review by staymay on 5/9/13
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2788 Twist Top
photo
Review by MelC on 8/23/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6517 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6517 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1136 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1136 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us