SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1152 (Misses' Dress)

20 more reviews
Viewed 635 times 
Reviewed by:cakehole
photo

 
 
About cakeholestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 12/22/05
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/17/11 7:02 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lexley said...
This pattern is very similar to a dress I already own but instead of the front and back gathered pieces mine has single rows of stitched thin elastic which really is very comfy to wear. Elastic will also eliminate the need for a zipper. I am now going to make this and will follow your suggestions about the gaping neckline and will use bias binding (no facing) on the neckline and small cap sleeves(no cuffs). I am also going to use a 100% bamboo cotton fabric which will drape and wear well. Thanks for your excellent tips.....
1/26/12 8:48 PM
cakehole said...
Thanks for all the suggestions as to the pulling - I will definitely put a zip in next time. Stsimon, that's really interesting about the silk thread. And Mesewlot, yes, I would definitely go down a size on this pattern.
6/24/11 5:15 AM
mesewlot said...
I'm making this pattern,and my major concern is that it is going to be too roomy. You said that you cut a size down from what's recommended, which is what I planned to do. Did this work for you?
6/5/11 11:03 PM
stsimon said...
I just did some mending on a crepe de chine thrift-shop dress of my daughter's, so I could see that the weave makes it a delicate fabric liable to pull (as at your seams) or snag. A recent article in Threads about silk thread said that it is a myth that silk thread is too strong. Pulling on the seams when you put it over your head is causing the fabric to separate. Just add a zipper; my advice is to hand-sew one in with small back stitches which are really strong. And if you add underlining to the section where the fabric is pulled, it won't be noticeable.
6/3/11 8:58 AM
becca a said...
What a lovely top! It is a great color. Could you put in a zipper after the fact to salvage the top?
4/18/11 6:09 PM
Nancy in A2 said...
Your top is very pretty. I love it at tunic length. The neckline has plenty of room; perhaps you can add a side seam zipper. Many years ago, I was taught to not use thread that was stronger than the fabric when sewing delicate items. The point is to have the thread break before the fabric rips. I would use a 60 wt cotton thread for fine silk.
4/18/11 11:35 AM
annie1129 said...
Fabulous!! Sorry to hear the top is disintegrating.
4/17/11 11:39 PM
Gelbean said...
I love everything about your top! The neckline and color are fabulous. However, the tearing is awful. I wish I had some advise for you. I'm sure your next version will a total success.
4/17/11 7:49 PM
Aroura said...
It really is too bad the seams are tearing, it is a very pretty top. I know your next version will be even better, for the lessons learned though!
4/17/11 11:15 AM
Levone said...
Pretty top!
4/17/11 11:06 AM
marec said...
That is beautiful! Your review answered a few of my particular sewing Q-thanks :-) I'm sorry the top is disintegrating...looking forward to seeing your next review.
4/17/11 10:50 AM
Patti B said...
Fabulous dress and I'm so sorry it won't find its way out of your closet as it looks great on you. Interesting seams
4/17/11 10:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Lekala Patterns 5481

photo
by: norsk

Review
You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

More Info