SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1247 (Misses' Top and Skirt)

100 more reviews
Viewed 1272 times 
Reviewed by:IndiaT.
photo

 
 
About IndiaT.star
CA USA
Member since: 4/15/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:4/22/11 9:48 PM
Last Updated:4/24/11 6:38 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
This top looks great on you! It's the first review I've seen of the blouse portion of the pattern, which intrigues me but also, in the full-frontal view, looks as though it could be just a giant sack. And your notes about the finished measurements confirm that this is one seriously oversized garment! However, in a drapey fabric like the one you've chosen, I see that it can be nice-looking on the right person.
4/22/11 11:04 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
thanks for the review. I was very interested in this pattern
4/22/11 11:13 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Cute for sure! I think you look great in this top.
4/22/11 11:29 PM
Patti B said...
'Waifs needing maternity wear' -- hahaha! Great line. The seaming is interesting but your very helpful review tells me that this is not for me -- thanks!
4/23/11 9:32 AM
CarolynGM said...
Despite the pattern's oddness, it looks quite good on you, no doubt thanks to the changes you made. Thanks for the very useful information about the pattern.
4/23/11 10:16 AM
imsewcrazy said...
I love your version of this top and agree that it looks great on you.
4/23/11 10:55 AM
Karine said...
This is a really different pattern, for sure. I think it looks great on you and I love your fabric.
4/23/11 12:57 PM
IndiaT. said...
thanks everyone! glad I used a drapey recommended fabric, I don't think it would have worked w/ the lawn I wanted to use. I want to tweak it some more, but unpicking the french seams is daunting. As a newer sewer, I really appreciate pattern review and your feedback so very much. This top works, but taught me I need to pick patterns based on how they will look on my figure, not the model!
4/23/11 3:05 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
I think your version fits much better than her RTW one! It's really cute on you and I'd be tempted to make it again.
4/23/11 7:07 PM
lamstu said...
I like the way you've styled the top and you put some thought into the fitting issues. It's definitely one that works for certain body types (not mine - thanks for saving me from discovering that the hard way :)
4/24/11 8:02 PM
crazygrad said...
I was planning to make this tomorrow. I may not now. You look so great and have such great 'tude in our pic, there is no chance! I need a cushion of time!
4/24/11 8:45 PM
IndiaT. said...
I am not entirely sure why I look like I'm looking for a fight in this pic, lol... I'd love to see another version of this.. a more experienced sewer will no doubt get better results.
4/24/11 9:06 PM
SewWil said...
Your top looks very nice on you. Thanks for the review. I've been wondering about this pattern.
4/25/11 0:16 AM
Renren said...
Oef, I love this pattern and I bought this pattern and now I'm really wondering . . . but I think it looks great on you! I'm going to have to do some pre-planning and lots of soul searching before I start, apparently. Great review. Thanks.
4/25/11 1:18 AM
Sewing Chick said...
You have managed to make this top look great. Thanks for the review. Yours looks better than the picture on the pattern.
4/28/11 10:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 1324

photo
by: Kay Y

Review
Other Hospital Doll

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now