SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Dos de Tejas> 5023 (Piccadilly skirt)

Viewed 1446 times 
Reviewed by:petra
photo

 
 
About petrastarstar
NH USA
Member since: 6/20/03
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/04 8:46 PM
Last Updated:8/9/04 8:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
Beautiful skirt. It looks lovely on you. 9 1/2 yards of fabric? I'd be tired before I got finished laying out the fabric.
8/9/04 8:57 PM
MaryBeth said...
How beautiful the skirt is and your clever top makes the total outfit look great on you. 10 yds is a lot of fabric so I guess you really have to buy the fabric specifically for this pattern. Thanks for the review and photos!
8/9/04 8:58 PM
Patti B said...
Lovely outfit, Petra; beautiful fabric. Was laying it out a challenge with all that yardage?
8/9/04 9:01 PM
touran said...
Thanks for the review. It's a beautiful skirt and such great fabric. It looks fabulous.
8/9/04 9:55 PM
PVA said...
Gazooks, what a beautiful skirt & top! Thanks for the review, it really is lovely.
8/9/04 10:05 PM
Modiste Madness said...
That is a beautiful skirt. I have the pattern do but haven't made because I have yet to find fabric that I like cheap enough that I like.
8/9/04 10:30 PM
Mrs. Cecil said...
Absolutely beautiful! The fabric and fit are perfect. Did you use any special techniques to hold the fabric in place while laying it out?
8/10/04 6:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely outfit. The skirt is great, but sew much fabric!! I like the top with the skirt, great outfit. Great review.
8/10/04 6:43 AM
D1Diva said...
Absolutely awesome. This is where the $1 table at Walmart would come in handy if you can find pretty, drapey fabric there. Great job on a challenging project!
8/10/04 9:33 AM
petra said...
Thanks, I had to put the skirt in the middle of the room and spread out the material in all directions (you attach about 7 yds to the yoke before it is trimmed to length!), then use a tape measure to mark down the hem length as I went around. Hopelessly inaccurate, but didn't seem to matter! This was the perfect material for this skirt. I might try making it again in a slightly heavier, but still drapey++ fabric sometime (probably with a Joann's 50% off coupon!)
8/10/04 9:42 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Love it!
8/10/04 11:17 AM
Hilary said...
Beautiful!
8/10/04 5:36 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Beautiful skirt and top! Very feminine and flattering on you.
8/10/04 9:57 PM
galadriel45 said...
I have read all of your reviews you just posted and just love your stuff. You are now on my favorite reviewer list. Thanks for posting and I look forward to more!
8/10/04 10:42 PM
TanyaMT said...
What a beautiful skirt, and the top you made to go with it is perfect. 10 yards of material though ... I'm amazed. It doesn't look like that much material when you are standing in the photo.
8/14/04 7:30 PM
AnneM said...
Now that's a lot of fabric! Sounds like a skirt to go dancing in.
8/15/04 10:36 AM
FreyaStark said...
A gorgeous skirt and a great outfit.
1/2/11 7:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-114

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Simplicity 2065

photo
by: LBH2010

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now