SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2004-136 (Tops, Trousers)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1941 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/04 4:29 PM
Last Updated:9/18/04 10:19 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Runover, this is the "regular" WOF, not the Plus issue. Mary, thanks! But I sure hope not! LOL!
9/20/04 11:28 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Your top is so complimentary! It looks great on you - and with your son's team colors and such, I bet you get requests from the other moms for one!
9/20/04 10:42 AM
Runrover said...
Debbie: I love your top. As others have said, your reviews are always so thorough and well written. A question, is the garment from the May 2004 issue of Burda WOF or Burda WOF Plus. I am going to try to find this particular issue and want to make sure I'm asking for the right thing. Thanks.
9/20/04 8:56 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great looking outfit! The princess seams on the top are so flattering.
9/19/04 8:53 AM
Neefer said...
I agree with PVA on the shoulder fit of the first top. I also think the first top is more flattering in the way the princess seam goes into the arm hole. IMO, the 2nd top cut off the edge of a breast, and I thought it kinda looked funny. Where as the 1st top, the princess seam went over the breast and into the armhole. This could also be an aspect of how you are standing and the orientation of the photo, but I really liked the smaller version better.
8/16/04 12:34 PM
PVA said...
Just my impression, the original photo full front view it looks like the shoulder & sleeve seam are just dead-on right. The new photo it would appear where the shoulder meets the sleeve is just a bit longish. At least in the full-front & back views. The angle view looks right-on. I guess it would come down to that oh-so-important element -- comfort! I certainly think the princess-seaming is very flattering for you. Shoulder princess or armscye princess -- you'd probably want to compare them, side by side! I've got a feeling it would be how you see it on yourself. Great comfort/action pieces. Thanks for the reviews & the opportunity to make these comparisons.
8/15/04 7:35 PM
PVA said...
Just my impression, the original photo full front view looks like the shoulder & sleeve seams are just dead-on right. In the new photo it would appear where the shoulder meets the sleeve is just a bit longish. At least in the full-front & back views. The angle view looks right-on. I guess it would come down to that oh-so-important element -- comfort! I certainly think the princess-seaming is very flattering for you. Shoulder princess or armscye princess -- you'd probably want to compare them, side by side! I've got a feeling it would be how you see it on yourself. Great comfort/action pieces. Thanks for the reviews & the opportunity to make these comparisons.
8/15/04 7:32 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
My fingers are crossed all you Floridians are OK! This top is beyond RTW. It is freaking cool!
8/15/04 11:16 AM
Eli said...
I agree with you, it is very RTW look. The details look so professional... Congratulations! The pants are great too. Burda WOF can be tricky and intimidating if you try them for a first time after being spoiled by the big 4 and others with detailed instructions, more notches for matching, separate lining patterns, etc. However, once you realize where you have to alter and how (which comes with sewing their patterns), you will start loving them. I also think they are more tuned into the today's body then other companies' patterns (which in my case is not exactly a plus but for most people it is a huge advantage).
8/14/04 12:09 PM
Eli said...
I agree with you, it is very RTW look. The details look so professional... Congratulations! The pants are great too. Burda WOF can be tricky and intimidating if you try them for a first time after being spoiled by the big 4 and others with detailed instructions, more notches for matching, separate lining patterns, etc. However, once you realize where you have to alter and how (which comes with sewing their patterns), you will start loving them. I also think they are more tuned into the today's body then other companies' patterns (which in my case is not exactly a plus but for most people it is a huge advantage). BTW, Burda magazine used to use less pattern sheets than it uses now, meaning - now they have 8, they used to have only four in the 80's and 90's... and imagine how hard it was to find your pattern back then! Even if you were experienced in their patterns, it still was a trip! Now it is more like a walk ;)
8/14/04 12:05 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks for the good wishes everyone. We made it through Charley without even a scrape. And yes, I am that much obsessed to change threads for the hem. LOL! I have the pattern retraced in the next bigger size and plan to re-do it exactly the same sometime this weekend. Then I'll move on to different colors.
8/14/04 11:01 AM
mag said...
I really enjoyed your review. It is very professional with excellent pictures, and detail work. I always look forward to seeing your work. Thanks again, and enjoy the outfits.
8/14/04 7:30 AM
Lori V said...
great top and wonderful details. How sweet of your ds to comment.
8/14/04 7:11 AM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review -- a really great one as always. I certainly appreciate all the photos! I can't believe you really changed colors! Sewing perfectionists are the greatest! I'm certainly keeping one eye & one ear tilted towards the TV in the living room -- listening for any news out of Tampa. MY prayers are certainly there with you & those you love! You have better things to do than clean-up after Charlie!
8/14/04 0:16 AM
ReneeO said...
Oh, I wish I had this one. I didn't start getting them till June :( I'll have to see if I can find this one for sale somewhere. Thanks for the link to the rotary guide arm, it's time consuming to trace, and then add SA. I'll have to order that. Praying from here that Charley misses you, as well.
8/13/04 9:21 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great review, Debbie. Keep on working on it, you've got a great start.
8/13/04 9:05 PM
jlg said...
Great looking top, Debbie.
8/13/04 8:56 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very nice! (Oh good, you are still making tops, was afraid you were moving on...I'm addicted to these reviews, although I'll be wanting your ideas for pants, too...if I get that far!) I'm not so keen on what I hear about sewing Burda patterns, although for more skilled sewers, the end result makes it worthwhile, I guess. Just checked the weather channel very briefly and they said it is quieter in your area. Looks like Ft Myers may have been hit harder than Tampa. Let us know and take care!
8/13/04 8:27 PM
Mbarkle said...
Debbie, awesome top and I can't believe you changed colors on the hem, a perfectionist maybe? LOL Yes, I found this one binding over the butt, but that is typical for my build and probably most of us in the plus size category unless you are an apple shape. I have been living in the sleeveless version of this top all summer. Hope Charley doesn't bring too much wrath. You look comfy in the new outfit and thanks for such a thorough review with lots of pictures.
8/13/04 6:21 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Sherril, I linked the line drawing since the photo doesn't really show the top clearly. But the review template outsmarted me. I think it's fixed now. I don't think we'll miss the winds entirely, but since the path has shifted, we're due to get a lot less. Stash or family ... hmmm . tough call. :D
8/13/04 4:57 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Debbie, I'm glad the top fit in the bust. I haven't wanted to mess with the WOF patterns because if I have to trace, add seam allowances, hems, I don't want to then have to do a ton of alterations too. I think if you do a sway-back alteration and add some at the hips, the back will fit better. Or like you said, just use stretchier fabric. Now I have coverstitch machine envy! I can't see the WOF picture. Oh, and I hope those winds miss you altogether. It'd be hard to pick up the stash and all your machines and also get the family in the car too. :D
8/13/04 4:52 PM
MsConnie said...
Great review! I've been debating on this one since I'm between a 42 & 44 in WOF sizes - now I will definitely be making this! The slits on the side are a nice touch, no one would ever think they weren't supposed to be there! And I hope you escaped Charley, but it sure doesn't look like it on The Weather Channel! Prayers are with you.
8/13/04 4:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now