Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2004-136 (Tops, Trousers) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 1940 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/04 4:29 PM
Last Updated:9/18/04 10:19 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MsConnie said...
Great review! I've been debating on this one since I'm between a 42 & 44 in WOF sizes - now I will definitely be making this! The slits on the side are a nice touch, no one would ever think they weren't supposed to be there! And I hope you escaped Charley, but it sure doesn't look like it on The Weather Channel! Prayers are with you.
8/13/04 4:43 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Debbie, I'm glad the top fit in the bust. I haven't wanted to mess with the WOF patterns because if I have to trace, add seam allowances, hems, I don't want to then have to do a ton of alterations too. I think if you do a sway-back alteration and add some at the hips, the back will fit better. Or like you said, just use stretchier fabric. Now I have coverstitch machine envy! I can't see the WOF picture. Oh, and I hope those winds miss you altogether. It'd be hard to pick up the stash and all your machines and also get the family in the car too. :D
8/13/04 4:52 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Sherril, I linked the line drawing since the photo doesn't really show the top clearly. But the review template outsmarted me. I think it's fixed now. I don't think we'll miss the winds entirely, but since the path has shifted, we're due to get a lot less. Stash or family ... hmmm . tough call. :D
8/13/04 4:57 PM
Mbarkle said...
Debbie, awesome top and I can't believe you changed colors on the hem, a perfectionist maybe? LOL Yes, I found this one binding over the butt, but that is typical for my build and probably most of us in the plus size category unless you are an apple shape. I have been living in the sleeveless version of this top all summer. Hope Charley doesn't bring too much wrath. You look comfy in the new outfit and thanks for such a thorough review with lots of pictures.
8/13/04 6:21 PM
JDpenelope said...
Very nice! (Oh good, you are still making tops, was afraid you were moving on...I'm addicted to these reviews, although I'll be wanting your ideas for pants, too...if I get that far!) I'm not so keen on what I hear about sewing Burda patterns, although for more skilled sewers, the end result makes it worthwhile, I guess. Just checked the weather channel very briefly and they said it is quieter in your area. Looks like Ft Myers may have been hit harder than Tampa. Let us know and take care!
8/13/04 8:27 PM
jlg said...
Great looking top, Debbie.
8/13/04 8:56 PM
MaryBeth said...
Great review, Debbie. Keep on working on it, you've got a great start.
8/13/04 9:05 PM
ReneeO said...
Oh, I wish I had this one. I didn't start getting them till June :( I'll have to see if I can find this one for sale somewhere. Thanks for the link to the rotary guide arm, it's time consuming to trace, and then add SA. I'll have to order that. Praying from here that Charley misses you, as well.
8/13/04 9:21 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review -- a really great one as always. I certainly appreciate all the photos! I can't believe you really changed colors! Sewing perfectionists are the greatest! I'm certainly keeping one eye & one ear tilted towards the TV in the living room -- listening for any news out of Tampa. MY prayers are certainly there with you & those you love! You have better things to do than clean-up after Charlie!
8/14/04 0:16 AM
Lori V said...
great top and wonderful details. How sweet of your ds to comment.
8/14/04 7:11 AM
mag said...
I really enjoyed your review. It is very professional with excellent pictures, and detail work. I always look forward to seeing your work. Thanks again, and enjoy the outfits.
8/14/04 7:30 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Thanks for the good wishes everyone. We made it through Charley without even a scrape. And yes, I am that much obsessed to change threads for the hem. LOL! I have the pattern retraced in the next bigger size and plan to re-do it exactly the same sometime this weekend. Then I'll move on to different colors.
8/14/04 11:01 AM
Eli said...
I agree with you, it is very RTW look. The details look so professional... Congratulations! The pants are great too. Burda WOF can be tricky and intimidating if you try them for a first time after being spoiled by the big 4 and others with detailed instructions, more notches for matching, separate lining patterns, etc. However, once you realize where you have to alter and how (which comes with sewing their patterns), you will start loving them. I also think they are more tuned into the today's body then other companies' patterns (which in my case is not exactly a plus but for most people it is a huge advantage). BTW, Burda magazine used to use less pattern sheets than it uses now, meaning - now they have 8, they used to have only four in the 80's and 90's... and imagine how hard it was to find your pattern back then! Even if you were experienced in their patterns, it still was a trip! Now it is more like a walk ;)
8/14/04 12:05 PM
Eli said...
I agree with you, it is very RTW look. The details look so professional... Congratulations! The pants are great too. Burda WOF can be tricky and intimidating if you try them for a first time after being spoiled by the big 4 and others with detailed instructions, more notches for matching, separate lining patterns, etc. However, once you realize where you have to alter and how (which comes with sewing their patterns), you will start loving them. I also think they are more tuned into the today's body then other companies' patterns (which in my case is not exactly a plus but for most people it is a huge advantage).
8/14/04 12:09 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
My fingers are crossed all you Floridians are OK! This top is beyond RTW. It is freaking cool!
8/15/04 11:16 AM
PVA said...
Just my impression, the original photo full front view looks like the shoulder & sleeve seams are just dead-on right. In the new photo it would appear where the shoulder meets the sleeve is just a bit longish. At least in the full-front & back views. The angle view looks right-on. I guess it would come down to that oh-so-important element -- comfort! I certainly think the princess-seaming is very flattering for you. Shoulder princess or armscye princess -- you'd probably want to compare them, side by side! I've got a feeling it would be how you see it on yourself. Great comfort/action pieces. Thanks for the reviews & the opportunity to make these comparisons.
8/15/04 7:32 PM
PVA said...
Just my impression, the original photo full front view it looks like the shoulder & sleeve seam are just dead-on right. The new photo it would appear where the shoulder meets the sleeve is just a bit longish. At least in the full-front & back views. The angle view looks right-on. I guess it would come down to that oh-so-important element -- comfort! I certainly think the princess-seaming is very flattering for you. Shoulder princess or armscye princess -- you'd probably want to compare them, side by side! I've got a feeling it would be how you see it on yourself. Great comfort/action pieces. Thanks for the reviews & the opportunity to make these comparisons.
8/15/04 7:35 PM
Neefer said...
I agree with PVA on the shoulder fit of the first top. I also think the first top is more flattering in the way the princess seam goes into the arm hole. IMO, the 2nd top cut off the edge of a breast, and I thought it kinda looked funny. Where as the 1st top, the princess seam went over the breast and into the armhole. This could also be an aspect of how you are standing and the orientation of the photo, but I really liked the smaller version better.
8/16/04 12:34 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What a great looking outfit! The princess seams on the top are so flattering.
9/19/04 8:53 AM
Runrover said...
Debbie: I love your top. As others have said, your reviews are always so thorough and well written. A question, is the garment from the May 2004 issue of Burda WOF or Burda WOF Plus. I am going to try to find this particular issue and want to make sure I'm asking for the right thing. Thanks.
9/20/04 8:56 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Your top is so complimentary! It looks great on you - and with your son's team colors and such, I bet you get requests from the other moms for one!
9/20/04 10:42 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Runover, this is the "regular" WOF, not the Plus issue. Mary, thanks! But I sure hope not! LOL!
9/20/04 11:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Butterick 5523 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by aleah42 on 2/22/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2010-119 Dress with Bow
photo
Review by mpastinell... on 3/17/11
Read Review

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4896 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4896 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us