Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3878 thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Knock-Off Contest - 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 1411 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:fattyboomboom
photo
About fattyboomboomstar
USA
Member since: 2/10/09
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/11 8:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lakaribane said...
I think you're a contender for Aunt of the Year after this petal adventure, LOL! Are you running it in the Knock-Off contest? You don't have the banner up.
5/31/11 9:05 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Very gorgeous indeed!
5/31/11 9:44 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
What an undertaking!! Great job and one lucky niece.
5/31/11 12:57 PM
arianamaniacs said...
This turned out so great! You're a wonderful Auntie!
5/31/11 2:43 PM
peaceykeen said...
I was hoping you would be able to work it out in time! The dress looks wonderful!
5/31/11 3:51 PM
Sigrid. said...
WOW, what a beautiful knock-off. Absolutely amazing. I'm in awe, 1000 petals cutting and sewing. You are a wonderful aunt! Do make sure the review is entered in the contest.
5/31/11 3:51 PM
Aroura said...
The dress turned out absolutely amazing! The fit looks very good, and the petals...wow, I'm in awe of the work. Beautiful!
5/31/11 8:45 PM
mesewlot said...
OMG, your review is sympathetically funny. :) I really enjoyed reading it. Hands down, I have to agree with Lakaribane~ Aunt of the Year is very fitting! Wonderful job!
6/1/11 0:50 AM
pdiddly said...
You deserve a medal congratulations on all your hard work - you sound like me I made my niece her wedding cake and bouquets and now her sister has asked I do the same for her wedding in September too - so I know how you feel -exhausted and proud that it came out so well
6/1/11 2:08 AM
montanachic said...
Wow, really beautiful.
6/1/11 9:55 AM
popo said...
This is absolutely stunning!
6/1/11 12:11 PM
GodsgirlT said...
This is sooooo beautiful. Talk about crafts"woman"ship! I love it! 900?.......900 CHIFFON petals? THAT is unbelieveable. Sounds a little a intimidating. I'd take either Myles or John by themselves...but together? I feel you! You did a FANTASTIC job on this dress. Your niece looks very elegant. Nice job!
6/1/11 7:19 PM
Deepika said...
Beautiful! I hope your niece realizes how lucky she is. Please ask her to read the review so she can understand how much love went into this dress. I really like the petals on the dress and am thinking about incorporating them on a top. Question: Did you have to finish the raw edges on the petals? Do they fray?
6/2/11 12:47 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Gorgeous! Good luck.
6/2/11 1:50 PM
Dale C said...
I was wondering the same thing as Deepika... do they fray? It's absolutely stunning and such a lot of work! Your niece looks very pleased.
6/2/11 3:24 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Thanks for all your kind words! Yes, the edges of the petals do fray a bit at the parts that are not cut on the bias. I worried about that at first, couldn't think of a solution other than using an excessive number of petals to compensate for the inevitable loss of coverage.
6/2/11 8:50 PM
Paris75008 said...
OMG that dress is just unbelievably gorgeous. Amazing sewing and a perfect knockoff. Very entertaining review, too. Lucky niece indeed
6/3/11 4:53 AM
Bonnie O said...
Gorgeous dress!
6/3/11 8:10 AM
loti said...
I want one :) You did a lovely job, and so many pedals yikes.
6/3/11 11:50 AM
JillyBe said...
I have to pick my jaw up off the table before I can speak. Stunning!!!!!!!!!!!
6/3/11 2:33 PM
annakeeton said...
The dress you made is stunning!
6/3/11 6:32 PM
Sewingelle said...
Wow. That is one fabulous dress!
6/7/11 0:28 AM
Rosesred said...
Dear god, this is a stunning dress! Constructionwise, it looks beautiful and the hours spend on it are clear; the level of workmanship looks so very high. Great dress and a beautiful knock off
6/7/11 8:41 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You definitely get the Auntie Mame Award for this one :-). With extra credit for the distance. Next time (I know..) have someone else take pictures of her in the dress, and moving in several positions. That was a tip from a friend which saved me when I made a wedding dress for someone else's niece, an ocean apart.
6/9/11 8:39 AM
Raye Ann said...
stunning dress! you DESERVED this prize!!!! what a great auntie you are.
6/13/11 6:26 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous dress, a fine effort and a great labour of love. Congratulations on your well-deserved win.
6/13/11 8:32 PM
EveS said...
Hooooly moly!!! You are da woman!!!
6/13/11 9:39 PM
Erin D said...
You have a great story as well as an amazing dress. Congratulations!
6/13/11 10:22 PM
Chris Kelly said...
Beautiful!!!!!
6/14/11 2:16 AM
StephiLuna said...
So beautiful and inspiring! You are obviously Aunt of the Year!
6/14/11 11:04 AM
moushka said...
Lucky niece - she'd better name her first-born after you! Gorgeous dress, great review. You deserved to win.
6/15/11 10:36 AM
Leora said...
This must have been all consuming, what an undertaking but soooo worth it. Amazingly beautiful work!
6/16/11 2:19 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Congratulations on winning the contest! The dress is beautiful, and your review is terrific. What a lucky niece you have! I truly understand the difficulty of fitting those far away, as most of my sewing is for my daughters, who both live 1/3 of the country away. But I think they're getting better at speaking "sewese", and I measure them mercilessly when I see them! Again, terrific job on a beautiful interpretation of that inspiration dress.
6/18/11 12:03 PM
mendospot said...
Yowza!
6/21/11 5:33 PM
LisaG said...
WOW! This dress is gorgeous! Congratulations on winning the Knock-Off Contest. I agree with everyone else--it was well deserved. If you find yourself in this situation in the future (and let's face it. An aunt who will sew 1,000 chiffon petals on a dress is not likely to say no to a future request!!!), you might consider using Skype to help with long-distance fitting. All you need is a computer and webcam on both ends. The service is free. It could help you see the muslin from all angles and gauge fit.
6/24/11 9:33 AM
WJean said...
Love caused you to commit to making such a beautiful garment for your niece, and it was that same love that enabled you to finish it even though it was being completed on her way out the door. You are to be commended for your work!
6/26/11 0:32 AM
manola6176 said...
I love everything about this dress and the story behind it is fabulous. Congratulation winning a well deserved 1st prize
6/28/11 8:35 AM
radollrose said...
Mary, I was beyond impressed by the finished dress, then I saw the Jason Wu comparison! Wow!! Not only does it reflect and honor the original dress design, it is beautiful in its own way. Brilliant!
6/29/11 2:01 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us