SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3267 (Men's Pants)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2446 times 
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/04 2:02 PM
Last Updated:9/11/04 1:12 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
whoa! what great pants!!! Karla I just bought this pattern.
8/22/04 2:47 PM
Gigi Louis said...
What great pants, Karla!
8/22/04 2:49 PM
mudcat said...
Wow, Karla. You did such an excellent job with the pants. They look very RTW (and I mean this in a positive way!)
8/22/04 2:49 PM
joan said...
You are a life-saver! Just what I need a flat front, expanded waist, skinnier legs for my husband and you have worked out the details for me. I am printing your review. The pants look great on your DH.
8/22/04 3:15 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
These look wonderful and like $$$ RTW ones. Great job!
8/22/04 4:13 PM
mamakooz said...
You did great, I hope your honey brings you flowers for this one!!!
8/22/04 5:07 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
I'm so excited about this pattern, Karla!!! The ones you made look *GREAT*!
8/22/04 5:23 PM
Teri said...
Karla, those are great pants. My husband gets soooo frustrated buying pants, I might have to make these up. What kind of fabric did you use?
8/22/04 6:16 PM
Mbarkle said...
Great looking pants. I just bought this pattern, my dh is 5'8" and very slim so has trouble finding RTW that fits. Thanks for the great (and funny) review, very inspiring.
8/22/04 6:18 PM
cindyann said...
Wow, fabulous fit. They look just wonderful. I'm sure he is very pleased.
8/22/04 6:42 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
WOW, Karla, these pants knock me over! What an excellent and helpful review too. This is just the sort of information we need to sew the pattern well.
8/23/04 5:21 AM
Lou. said...
Wow, great pants! My dh isn't seeing this or he'll want some :-)
8/23/04 5:46 AM
JDpenelope said...
DH must be pleased--the pants are terrific with all your adjustments. Interesting project and fun review.
8/23/04 5:58 AM
AnneM said...
What a great job. Those look excellent on your DH, with a great fit. My DH likes flat-front pants (& is 5'8", although he is avoiding the waistline expansion at this point), so I will have to pick these up.
8/23/04 7:26 AM
Skymom said...
Karla, thanks SO MUCH! I requested the review of this pattern as soon as I saw it, because my husband has the same figure type as yours (including the torn Achilles, by the way), only more exaggerated--shorter and substantially rounder through the tummy. He's also fussy about his pants, wears only flat-front styles, and frets because the leg width is always too wide. So now that you've tested this pattern for me, I can try making trousers for him. Probably corduroys for winter. Again, many thanks for your helpful review.
8/23/04 8:49 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Gosh, you all are great for my ego! Alice, RTW-looking is what I was hoping for, since DH has never expressed a desire to hear "Did your wife make your pants?". Teri, the fabric bolt said polyester, but when I prewashed the stuff, it got that slightly stiff feeling that wet rayon gets; I'm guessing it's a blend. Next pair: poly microfiber. Again, thanks for all your nice comments, everyone!
8/23/04 1:13 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Where did you get that waistband interfacing you mentionned? That sounds lovely to work with ... a wonderfully inspiring pair of pants! Maybe after all the back to school clothes are made ...
8/23/04 4:10 PM
Debbie Cook said...
What a wonderful review! Informative, entertaining, and so enjoyable! Love the "pinching every penny" comment ... that one hit my funny bone with a thump!
8/24/04 1:05 AM
Georgene said...
Please do not let my DH know about this pattern! Guess what I would be making for the rest of my life! Boy oh boy, do these look great, Karla. I bet they would be really grand in a nice wool blend too for a dressier version.
8/24/04 1:19 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Karla, my SO has the same sports injuries. Thanks so much for this great review! The pants look really nice on him and I am sure he appreciates your efforts.
8/24/04 9:41 AM
Karla Kizer said...
OOoops - I didn't mean to push this one back to the top of the list. Sorry. I did want to thank Lorna for asking about the waistband interfacing I used. I checked the box at the store and discovered it was not Armo, but Ban-roll waistbanding that I used. I corrected the review. Lorna, I bought it at a local independent store, but I think Joanns might have it. Does anyone know for sure?
8/25/04 7:21 PM
jennie k said...
Karla, great review! Thorough and with lots of technique tips. With the thought you put into this pattern, no wonder the pants look great.
8/25/04 7:25 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Fantastic pants, Karla - thanks for your very helpful comments on the alteration process too.
8/25/04 7:38 PM
Joos said...
Thanks for the review! This is just in time for my next project: a pair of pant for DH.
8/25/04 9:59 PM
Lori V said...
fantastic pants and review.
8/25/04 10:39 PM
Elemenopeo said...
I already ordered fabric to try these out on my much larger DH. What did you use for lining fabric?
8/26/04 1:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Stefanie, for the lining I used a scrap of mystery fabric that looks and feels like the pockets in men's RTW pants. Not much help, am I? If I hadn't found this mystery fabric in the stash, I probably would have used poly/cotton broadcloth; something like Palencia (available at Walmart) should work. DH and I both appreciate all the nice comments, though he wonders why there aren't more remarks about his "hot body" being on the internet. I reminded him that his body was hot only because it was 93 degrees when we took the picture..... Thanks, everyone!
8/26/04 8:54 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Aw - tell him he's smoking! I'm sure if he gave us a back shot, he would get more comments too! :) Thanks for the lining tip - that does help.
8/27/04 9:49 AM
JeanetteE said...
Well say now, my first thoughts were 'nice bod'. Oh, nice pants too, Karla.
8/30/04 10:39 AM
Nancy Anne said...
Great review! It sounds like I won't have to do any alterations to this one to get them full enough for my hubby's thick thighs and calves. Loved the tip about taking the length off in the mid-thigh. I would have done it mid-calf. Thanks!
1/22/05 5:32 PM
Nana2be said...
I've always hesitated to sew pants for my husband since he is built a lot like your DH. Never certain if they would fit but with your encouragement, I just might try these....after Christmas! Thanks!
11/23/09 9:28 PM
Meredith P said...
Great review, Karla. My DH is also vertically challenged, and I always mean to make him pants to avoid the clown pant look from RTW, but haven't done it since he was a youngster. Once I got a pair fit, I could really crank these out--no excuses. And thanks to the internet, appropriate fabric is a lot more accessible than say 30+ years ago.
12/27/09 9:09 AM
Arell said...
McMaster-Carr sells hemmed kevlar curtain material. See http://www.mcmaster.com/#kevlar-curtains/=8naj08
8/31/10 4:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8844

photo
by: Carolyn.S

Review