SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 7975 or Kwik Sew 3258">The Contemporary Couture Jacket Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M6097 (Misses' Victorian Costume)

2 more reviews
Viewed 253 times 
Reviewed by:auntie bellums
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About auntie bellums
CA USA
Member since: 5/1/05
Reviews: 6 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/11 1:48 AM
Last Updated:5/25/11 1:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
karinadrake said... (7/24/12 4:44 AM) Reply
I have almost finished making the same dress for my Year 12 major work. I did however machine sew the lace on and it worked perfectly, you can barely even see the stitches. I also put in eyelets which also worked fine but I chose a taffeta as my material so it's a lot sturdier. Also, to get the 'period' look I used curtain material as the contrast, this works well in keeping the shape, especially on the bustle.
bonvogue said... (12/29/11 2:48 PM) Reply
Hello! your dress is really pretty. I am also using this pattern right now to make a venican dress for a ball. But when I attached the back peplum to the back body, my peplum does not meet the back's edge. It is about 1" short. I have already sewn in the pleat in the peplum. I am not sure what I am supose to do with the 1" extension. The illustration on the envelop shows a flush Center back. Did you ran into this issue?
Mufffet said... (7/1/11 10:24 AM) Reply
This is spectacularly beautiful. It is what little girls dream of...at least this little-girl-in-old-woman's-body. :) Your work is impressive and lovely to see.
jewelsew said... (5/27/11 12:40 PM) Reply
Great work - it's beautiful! When I saw the pattern I thought the same thing about the period and was glad to read your comments.
sacmabell said... (5/26/11 5:31 PM) Reply
Your hand work is beautiful. The time you put in was definitely not wasted. You should be proud of this dress.
Trephas2003 said... (5/25/11 9:28 AM) Reply
It looks beautiful!
RadarRadiance said... (5/25/11 8:30 AM) Reply
What a beautiful dress, it gives a complete different look then what the pattern shows when done in white. You have a great eye, you'll have to post more pictures, beautiful!
Amanda.Claire said... (5/25/11 6:47 AM) Reply
This was a load of hard work. Great job! Is this for a wedding?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1949

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Pattern Details
Young Image Magazine SS-2013-Y1307

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review