SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M6097 (Misses' Victorian Costume)

1 more reviews
Viewed 236 times 
Reviewed by:auntie bellums
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About auntie bellums
CA USA
Member since: 5/1/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/11 1:48 AM
Last Updated:5/25/11 1:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda.Claire said...
This was a load of hard work. Great job! Is this for a wedding?
5/25/11 6:47 AM
RadarRadiance said...
What a beautiful dress, it gives a complete different look then what the pattern shows when done in white. You have a great eye, you'll have to post more pictures, beautiful!
5/25/11 8:30 AM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
5/25/11 9:28 AM
sacmabell said...
Your hand work is beautiful. The time you put in was definitely not wasted. You should be proud of this dress.
5/26/11 5:31 PM
jewelsew said...
Great work - it's beautiful! When I saw the pattern I thought the same thing about the period and was glad to read your comments.
5/27/11 12:40 PM
Mufffet said...
This is spectacularly beautiful. It is what little girls dream of...at least this little-girl-in-old-woman's-body. :) Your work is impressive and lovely to see.
7/1/11 10:24 AM
bonvogue said...
Hello! your dress is really pretty. I am also using this pattern right now to make a venican dress for a ball. But when I attached the back peplum to the back body, my peplum does not meet the back's edge. It is about 1" short. I have already sewn in the pleat in the peplum. I am not sure what I am supose to do with the 1" extension. The illustration on the envelop shows a flush Center back. Did you ran into this issue?
12/29/11 2:48 PM
karinadrake said...
I have almost finished making the same dress for my Year 12 major work. I did however machine sew the lace on and it worked perfectly, you can barely even see the stitches. I also put in eyelets which also worked fine but I chose a taffeta as my material so it's a lot sturdier. Also, to get the 'period' look I used curtain material as the contrast, this works well in keeping the shape, especially on the bustle.
7/24/12 4:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8942

photo
by: vchan38

Review