SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2209 (Misses' Dresses)

55 more reviews
Viewed 424 times 
Reviewed by:LJane
photo

 
 
About LJanestar
Member since: 7/19/10
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/25/11 10:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LJane said...
Oh, I'm sorry for the late response Liz in Cville-- It wasn't see through at all, so in that respect I don't think it has to have a lining. I just prefer another layer. It made the dress feel more substantial.
8/7/11 10:21 PM
Liz in Cville said...
That is beautiful! I was just looking at the print in a lighter color for a less fitted summer dress: I hope it's not a faux pas to say so here, but for anyone who is interested, the collection is on sale at fabric.com thru 6/20. Question: Does it really need to be lined? I'm ordering a swatch, but that doesn't always seem to answer the modesty question. LJane, thanks so much for posting this review!
6/16/11 9:43 AM
Knitters Delight said...
This is really nice.
6/12/11 12:06 PM
LJane said...
Thanks, everyone! SewingTate, Do you mean ready-to-wear size 8 or 10? If so, I usually wear an 8 or 10 when I buy a dress off the rack, but when I sew I always cut a size 14. I guess that's what they mean by "vanity sizing" :) I thought the pattern was true to size for what I usually sew.
6/11/11 11:55 PM
SewingTate said...
Your dress does look great! I just bought this pattern. My Joann Fabric store had Simplicity patterns on sale for $1 for the Memorial Day weekend! I haven't cut out the pieces yet because I'm surprised by the measurements. I normally wear a dress size 8 or 10. But this pattern looks like I'll need at least a 14. So I'm really confused. Did you find that the pattern runs this small?
5/28/11 8:20 AM
mary in FL said...
I love the happy print!
5/26/11 9:08 PM
sew2little said...
Your dress is great. You might look at the sewing diva's tutorial on invisible zips. I use it--but use my regular foot to hold the zipper coil down--with great success.
5/26/11 7:03 PM
Claverie said...
Very nice ensemble ;) I used a decorator fabric out of two large sample pieces found at a local thrift store and it turned out nice and crisp (granted, it'll have to be dry cleaned) ... Your dress is cute, particularly with those shoes!
5/26/11 10:01 AM
JanieBee said...
Gorgeous dress. If you make it again, you might try a linen blend. I made it in cotton/linen, and it turned out great.
5/26/11 9:07 AM
Picnicfan said...
Your dress is a perfect fit and the fabric is very beautiful. The dress looks perfect on you. Well done!
5/26/11 9:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8663

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review
Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Odette Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: trinicity

Review