SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8720 (men's coat and belt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 341 times 
Reviewed by:julesberry
photo

 
 
About julesberrystarstar
Member since: 12/6/05
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/11 8:52 PM
Last Updated:6/3/11 8:56 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
What a handsome coat! You say, "As usual I added some inches to the length." My gosh, that guy is huge! I always have to add length for my slightly taller than average man, but your task is imposing.
6/3/11 9:19 PM
margk said...
This coat looks great on your "victim" : ) Well done.
6/4/11 2:35 AM
julesberry said...
Elona: Oh but he is a simple shape! Height is easy to adjust compared to curves. Have to be aware that extra is required when buying fabric and the seams take a while to sew - but it is still easier than fitting curves!
6/4/11 3:13 AM
Catbird said...
My kind of trench exactly! I don't know James, but I get the feeling it suits his personality vry well. The fabric couldn't be more perfect, giving it a kind of delicious slouchy quality. I love the pictures, too. Wonderful! p.s., I tried twice to leave a comment on your blog but was bounced over to Blogger each time and the comment failed. I wonder if something is up with your link?
6/4/11 8:37 AM
21wale said...
Wow! Fabulous coat!
6/4/11 9:18 AM
julesberry said...
Catbird: Thanks. It seems possible to comment on my blog - just made a test myself...
6/5/11 4:15 AM
Catbird said...
That's good...maybe it was a browser issue. I run into a lot of those.
6/5/11 8:33 AM
becca a said...
Fantastic coat! The fabric works with the pared down trench style perfectly.
6/5/11 9:21 AM
christinasbookshelf said...
If you are worried about the coat being lost, you could embroider your phone number (or use a permanent marker) on a ribbon and sew that to the back neck where the label would be. My husband uses his coats & jackets as a purse; he will stuff 4 or 5 pounds of things into 4 pockets. I haven't been able to interest him in a murse or small briefcase. He really wears out coats fast.
6/8/11 12:25 PM
thimbledore said...
This is wonderful! It is a fantastic coat on him. I just bought this pattern for my dude and he's super excited about it. I'll definitely be peeping back at your review as I get ready to make it.
1/23/12 9:07 PM
julesberry said...
thimbledore: Hope you have good luck making the coat!
1/24/12 4:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now
Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
McCall's 6069

photo
by: kidmd

Review