Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Burda 7018 - Denim Jacket.">Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8634 (Misses' Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 609 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews: 122 (patterns: 116)
Favored by: 146 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/16/11 9:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Zaneta said... (1/31/12 6:21 AM) Reply
I think your top is stunning... I love the A-line version and I think it compliments the horizontal line under the bust... this is lovely I am going to make this one up and also do the same ... gorgeous
marec said... (11/17/11 11:26 AM) Reply
I love all of your projects and this is no exception. It is distinctive and flattering.
jlg said... (11/13/11 5:40 PM) Reply
This is lovely. I've just started this and hope mine is as flattering.
Maree P said... (6/18/11 6:58 PM) Reply
I think it looks lovely on you Carolyn. And white suits you beautifully.
renren said... (6/17/11 7:02 PM) Reply
I think it looks quite nice. I like the line provided by the horizontal seam although I can imagine it getting lost in a print. With a solid color, as you have used, it adds a bit of interest and I like the hard edginess of the line in contrast to the cowl collar. Also, I was just thinking the other day how often I wish I had used a drapier fabric for a project. You almost never hear anyone say, oh, the fabric was too drapey. I guess I should only drag drapey fabrics home from now on! I guess that is the lesson to be learned! Enjoy your lovely top and I do hope you come to like it.
sewbarbie said... (6/17/11 5:32 PM) Reply
The top is so chic on you, great job!
pdiddly said... (6/17/11 2:39 AM) Reply
Despite your reservations I think the top looks fine and I am sure you will find yourself wearing it more often than you think.
AnneMarie60 said... (6/16/11 2:28 PM) Reply
A very flattering cowl top. At least you ended up with a wearable top, even if you weren't completely satisfied. I can see the horizontal seam offering an easy option to create a color-blocked top or dress.
nicegirl said... (6/16/11 2:21 PM) Reply
The cowl is very chic, but that horizontal seam is a puzzler! If there is no shaping, why did they put it in there??? Well, you can't go wrong with a classic white top.
CarolynGM said... (6/16/11 9:42 AM) Reply
I saw your dress Christa. In fact, that's such a good idea that I just might try it.
Christas said... (6/16/11 9:13 AM) Reply
Very nice looking top. I lengthened this pattern into a dress and wore it so often when the weather was cooler. Your version looks great, and I am sure you will get lots of wear out of it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 5525

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Butterick 5584 (OOP)

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Pattern Details
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Pattern Details