SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8634 (Misses' Top)

54 more reviews
Viewed 596 times 
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 145 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/16/11 9:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very nice looking top. I lengthened this pattern into a dress and wore it so often when the weather was cooler. Your version looks great, and I am sure you will get lots of wear out of it!
6/16/11 9:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
I saw your dress Christa. In fact, that's such a good idea that I just might try it.
6/16/11 9:42 AM
nicegirl said...
The cowl is very chic, but that horizontal seam is a puzzler! If there is no shaping, why did they put it in there??? Well, you can't go wrong with a classic white top.
6/16/11 2:21 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
A very flattering cowl top. At least you ended up with a wearable top, even if you weren't completely satisfied. I can see the horizontal seam offering an easy option to create a color-blocked top or dress.
6/16/11 2:28 PM
pdiddly said...
Despite your reservations I think the top looks fine and I am sure you will find yourself wearing it more often than you think.
6/17/11 2:39 AM
sewbarbie said...
The top is so chic on you, great job!
6/17/11 5:32 PM
Renren said...
I think it looks quite nice. I like the line provided by the horizontal seam although I can imagine it getting lost in a print. With a solid color, as you have used, it adds a bit of interest and I like the hard edginess of the line in contrast to the cowl collar. Also, I was just thinking the other day how often I wish I had used a drapier fabric for a project. You almost never hear anyone say, oh, the fabric was too drapey. I guess I should only drag drapey fabrics home from now on! I guess that is the lesson to be learned! Enjoy your lovely top and I do hope you come to like it.
6/17/11 7:02 PM
Maree P said...
I think it looks lovely on you Carolyn. And white suits you beautifully.
6/18/11 6:58 PM
jlg said...
This is lovely. I've just started this and hope mine is as flattering.
11/13/11 5:40 PM
marec said...
I love all of your projects and this is no exception. It is distinctive and flattering.
11/17/11 11:26 AM
Zaneta said...
I think your top is stunning... I love the A-line version and I think it compliments the horizontal line under the bust... this is lovely I am going to make this one up and also do the same ... gorgeous
1/31/12 6:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Advance Pattern Company 8436

photo
by: Graca

Review