Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8634 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 586 times 54 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:CarolynGM
photo
Friend of PR
About CarolynGMstarstarstarstar
AR USA
Member since: 3/9/03
Reviews written: 122
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/16/11 9:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very nice looking top. I lengthened this pattern into a dress and wore it so often when the weather was cooler. Your version looks great, and I am sure you will get lots of wear out of it!
6/16/11 9:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
I saw your dress Christa. In fact, that's such a good idea that I just might try it.
6/16/11 9:42 AM
nicegirl said...
The cowl is very chic, but that horizontal seam is a puzzler! If there is no shaping, why did they put it in there??? Well, you can't go wrong with a classic white top.
6/16/11 2:21 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
A very flattering cowl top. At least you ended up with a wearable top, even if you weren't completely satisfied. I can see the horizontal seam offering an easy option to create a color-blocked top or dress.
6/16/11 2:28 PM
pdiddly said...
Despite your reservations I think the top looks fine and I am sure you will find yourself wearing it more often than you think.
6/17/11 2:39 AM
sewbarbie said...
The top is so chic on you, great job!
6/17/11 5:32 PM
Renren said...
I think it looks quite nice. I like the line provided by the horizontal seam although I can imagine it getting lost in a print. With a solid color, as you have used, it adds a bit of interest and I like the hard edginess of the line in contrast to the cowl collar. Also, I was just thinking the other day how often I wish I had used a drapier fabric for a project. You almost never hear anyone say, oh, the fabric was too drapey. I guess I should only drag drapey fabrics home from now on! I guess that is the lesson to be learned! Enjoy your lovely top and I do hope you come to like it.
6/17/11 7:02 PM
Maree P said...
I think it looks lovely on you Carolyn. And white suits you beautifully.
6/18/11 6:58 PM
jlg said...
This is lovely. I've just started this and hope mine is as flattering.
11/13/11 5:40 PM
marec said...
I love all of your projects and this is no exception. It is distinctive and flattering.
11/17/11 11:26 AM
Zaneta said...
I think your top is stunning... I love the A-line version and I think it compliments the horizontal line under the bust... this is lovely I am going to make this one up and also do the same ... gorgeous
1/31/12 6:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-121 Skirt
photo
Review by Kbenco on 1/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick Free LUV letters
photo
Review by HanPanda on 4/6/13
Read Review

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5829 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5829 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us