SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4560 (Diaper Bag)

11 more reviews
Viewed 190 times 
Reviewed by:Anelie
photo

 
 
About Aneliestar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 3/11/08
Reviews: 6 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/11 11:52 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lisalu said... (3/9/12 10:53 AM) Reply
I am in the process of making this bag and I found your review very helpful! Based on your experience I trimmed off the seam allowance of the fleece sections before fusing. I'm surprised the instructions didn't specify that to begin with. The extra bulk of the fleece is NOT necessary in the seams! I also shortened the strap by 5" - thanks for the heads up on that. As for binding the shoulder pad thingie, since I trimmed the SA on the fleece it wasn't unmanageable but also I have two words for the next person who is applying binding to this section: GLUE STICK! Works like a charm (I will elaborate when I write my own review!) Again, thanks for your review it got me off to a good start on this project. :)
lisalu said... (3/9/12 10:53 AM) Reply
I am in the process of making this bag and I found your review very helpful! Based on your experience I trimmed off the seam allowance of the fleece sections before fusing. I'm surprised the instructions didn't specify that to begin with. The extra bulk of the fleece is NOT necessary in the seams! I also shortened the strap by 5" - thanks for the heads up on that. As for binding the shoulder pad thingie, since I trimmed the SA on the fleece it wasn't unmanageable but also I have two words for the next person who is applying binding to this section: GLUE STICK! Works like a charm (I will elaborate when I write my own review!) Again, thanks for your review it got me off to a good start on this project. :)
Anelie said... (6/21/11 6:29 AM) Reply
Hestiah, you're a genius - I might just do that to the strap, as it really is exceptionally long! And you're right, if I'd been thinking, I should have clipped the fleece out of the seam allowances before sewing. Next time..! ;-)
hestiah said... (6/20/11 7:29 PM) Reply
Also, to fix the too long strap--if its nearly impossible to get one end out to shorten (and it looks like it might be b/c its sewn in between the lining & outside bag and topstitched), you could slide the shoulder pad thing down, chop out what you need to from the center of the strap, and sew it back together (either in a seam or overlapping), with the idea that the shoulder pad thing would cover up your fix (you could even tack it to the strap at the top so it never uncovered your secret). Depends on how much too long it is, and how annoying it ends up being as to whether its worth it.
hestiah said... (6/20/11 7:23 PM) Reply
I love your choice of using contrast fabric, it makes a great modern looking bag! One tip you might try: when using thick interfacing or fusible fleece, trim off the seam allowances of the fusible--this way the bag has body but the seams aren't so thick. I have a variety of patterns that include this in the directions, and just as many that don't...hmmm, toss up to brand/personal preference I guess. You'll be a rockin' new mama with your custom nappy bag! And kudos on achieving such a professional looking finish as a beginning sewer!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Pattern Details