Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2011-131 (Vintage dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 588 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:joanico
photo
About joanicostar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 1/8/10
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/11 5:22 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
Fabulous! It's great to know this works well in a stable knit, too! I love the added piping here, also...
6/22/11 5:31 AM
JoJo Sews said...
great fit and the piping accents are stunning!
6/22/11 6:10 AM
FreyaStark said...
A nice, chic dress. You don't look a bit like a zombie!
6/22/11 6:24 AM
Mamma.Mia.6 said...
Beautiful! The piping was a touch of designer genius. Looks great on you. Great job!
6/22/11 7:30 AM
heathertyfeatherty said...
Beautiful dress! Lovely job.
6/22/11 7:50 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- gorgeous!! What an amazing, classy dress. The pattern isn't sized for petite, though, is it? I'm assuming you just mean you "petited" it.
6/22/11 7:59 AM
DreinPA said...
Very flattering!
6/22/11 8:10 AM
suesmith said...
The addition of piping raises this dress to the next level! A perfect fit on a fabulous dress.
6/22/11 8:12 AM
Kim12469 said...
Great dress! This makes me wish I still had a Burda Mag subscription!
6/22/11 8:27 AM
Christas said...
Very lovely dress on you! The fit looks so perfect. I love your addition of the piping. The dress is very pretty!
6/22/11 8:45 AM
Knitters Delight said...
This looks fabulous with piping & in a ponte knit!
6/22/11 8:50 AM
lakaribane said...
I love it! I'm in a big piping fixation right now so I love that detail in particular. Great dress, and I agree, great bones!
6/22/11 8:58 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful fit and great dress.
6/22/11 9:02 AM
BexInMD said...
The piping accents the pretty shape of the neckline and sleeves. Great choice of fabric and trim.
6/22/11 9:11 AM
SewWil said...
The piping sends this dress over the top. Great job!
6/22/11 10:01 AM
DD1104 said...
Very nice dress!! I love the piping with knit idea.
6/22/11 10:31 AM
Terri A said...
Classy! Love this dress.
6/22/11 1:07 PM
Sigrid. said...
Joana, very chic and very much you! Perfect fit and I love to see how you made it with the piping. Great result.
6/22/11 1:54 PM
21wale said...
Beautiful dress! The piping is wonderful, but so is the shape on you.
6/22/11 3:19 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Very nice and nicely done!
6/22/11 4:45 PM
Sewingelle said...
Very stylish!
6/22/11 7:17 PM
mizvi said...
I'm still a little intimidated by Burda with their scant instructions but a little dress like this makes me want to try harder. This and so many of this summer's posts of dresses just remind me why sewing is the best. There are no RTWs in my neck of the woods that could come close to this dress in style and quality. I love it!!! Congratulations. This is a rea!l winner
6/22/11 9:51 PM
Erin D said...
Perfect fit! Love the piping.
6/22/11 11:48 PM
becca a said...
What a great dress! I love the piping. It fits you perfectly.
6/23/11 10:28 AM
Lisa Laree said...
July 2011??? Wow...I haven't even gotten that issue in the mail yet, and you've already made a KILLER dress from it! The piping really kicks it up! Great work!
6/25/11 11:07 AM
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! The piping really sets off the lines of the dress...I love it!
6/26/11 11:48 PM
French.Seam said...
nice job, I really like the back view. You did well to sew this up already: I only got my issue today :D
6/30/11 2:25 PM
Nessa09 said...
Pretty, pretty, pretty! I just got my Burda issue and I see why you love this dress so much. BTW, zombie or not, the dress looks great on you!
6/30/11 4:15 PM
Lisette said...
It looks wonderful on you! Love the piping.
7/5/11 10:34 AM
pdiddly said...
what a fantastic looking dress and love the white piping accents - I think I may have to cut this one out too
8/3/11 4:40 AM
tiadia said...
This is so pretty! I'm looking at this pattern for a woven fabric as I write this. I love your piping and may steal that idea!
1/16/12 1:22 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Great dress! I was thinking of making this the next thing on my list and you've sold me! I love the piping!
1/17/12 12:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

McCall's 6441
photo
Review by pdiddly on 11/25/12
Read Review

Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5891 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 2369 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Riviera Shirt
photo
Review by Catherine ... on 5/3/11
Read Review

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

A-Door-Ables
A-Door-Ables

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us