SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5193 (Design your own)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1753 times 
Reviewed by:seKimberlyso
photo

 
 
About seKimberlysostar
Member since: 5/7/04
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 40
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/04 4:31 PM
Last Updated:9/3/04 9:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alviana said...
beautiful dress. i just made one of those. I love the colors u choose. Inspiring :)
12/22/08 1:23 AM
Debbie Cook said...
How pretty and romantic! Love the colors and the style.
9/5/04 12:04 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Great dress! I will have to try out your FBA as I have a similar type top that I was thinking of making...
9/3/04 12:59 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice dress and great review. Very helpful.
9/3/04 6:42 AM
AnneM said...
Nice dress, very good job adjusting it to what you wanted.
9/2/04 7:42 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Cute dress! I really like the bust adjustment. I have avoided those types of bodices because of the adjustment before, but I'll give it a try as soon as... um, well, maybe someday when I get to sew for myself again! :) -Ann
9/2/04 6:09 PM
seKimberlyso said...
Thanks everyone. Yes, the dart from the shoulder was just pushed flat as I neared the fuller part of the bust pattern. I just made sure when cutting the fabric that I pinned it taut where the dart disappeared, to make sure I got the fullest part of the bust right.
9/2/04 5:54 PM
Sherril Miller said...
A girlie dress-I like it! The length is just right. Thanks for the photo of your altered pattern piece. I tried to do a FBA on this type of bodice by adding a dart and then converting it under the bust as more gathers. The results were awful--but yours looks great. Did you just smoosh out the end of the dart from the shoulder to flatten it?
9/2/04 5:33 PM
sewsue said...
Great review and gorgeous dress! I love to hear about the process we sewists go through in deciding what pattern to use with what fabric and what changes we want to make to a pattern. We are so creative and clever. I love that about sewing! Your dress looks fantastic. Thanks for the detailed review.
9/2/04 5:29 PM
clare said...
Lovely dress! Thanks for the review... great timing as I have this pattern (I've sewn two tops) and was planning to sew a dress next. Great tip on the FBA... I was wondering how to do that!
9/2/04 5:17 PM
cindyann said...
Lovely dress! So feminine on you. Thanks for the great review. Love your detail pics.
9/2/04 4:58 PM
NancyDaQ said...
BTW the link looks like it's broken, but I was able to view the photo anyway by clicking the link. By the way, the dress is cute!
9/2/04 4:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Kwik Sew 3341

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Buy Now