SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5193 (Design your own)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1754 times 
Reviewed by:seKimberlyso
photo

 
 
About seKimberlysostar
Member since: 5/7/04
Reviews: 42 (patterns: 40)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/04 4:31 PM
Last Updated:9/3/04 9:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
alviana said... (12/22/08 1:23 AM) Reply
beautiful dress. i just made one of those. I love the colors u choose. Inspiring :)
Debbie Cook said... (9/5/04 12:04 PM) Reply
How pretty and romantic! Love the colors and the style.
Lorna C. Newman said... (9/3/04 12:59 PM) Reply
Great dress! I will have to try out your FBA as I have a similar type top that I was thinking of making...
Danvillegirl said... (9/3/04 6:42 AM) Reply
Nice dress and great review. Very helpful.
AnneM said... (9/2/04 7:42 PM) Reply
Nice dress, very good job adjusting it to what you wanted.
GorgeousFabrics said... (9/2/04 6:09 PM) Reply
Cute dress! I really like the bust adjustment. I have avoided those types of bodices because of the adjustment before, but I'll give it a try as soon as... um, well, maybe someday when I get to sew for myself again! :) -Ann
seKimberlyso said... (9/2/04 5:54 PM) Reply
Thanks everyone. Yes, the dart from the shoulder was just pushed flat as I neared the fuller part of the bust pattern. I just made sure when cutting the fabric that I pinned it taut where the dart disappeared, to make sure I got the fullest part of the bust right.
Sherril Miller said... (9/2/04 5:33 PM) Reply
A girlie dress-I like it! The length is just right. Thanks for the photo of your altered pattern piece. I tried to do a FBA on this type of bodice by adding a dart and then converting it under the bust as more gathers. The results were awful--but yours looks great. Did you just smoosh out the end of the dart from the shoulder to flatten it?
sewsue said... (9/2/04 5:29 PM) Reply
Great review and gorgeous dress! I love to hear about the process we sewists go through in deciding what pattern to use with what fabric and what changes we want to make to a pattern. We are so creative and clever. I love that about sewing! Your dress looks fantastic. Thanks for the detailed review.
clare said... (9/2/04 5:17 PM) Reply
Lovely dress! Thanks for the review... great timing as I have this pattern (I've sewn two tops) and was planning to sew a dress next. Great tip on the FBA... I was wondering how to do that!
cindyann said... (9/2/04 4:58 PM) Reply
Lovely dress! So feminine on you. Thanks for the great review. Love your detail pics.
NancyDaQ said... (9/2/04 4:52 PM) Reply
BTW the link looks like it's broken, but I was able to view the photo anyway by clicking the link. By the way, the dress is cute!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Pattern Details