Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4035 - Vintage (1941 Vintage Dress) - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 350 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:renelope
photo
Friend of PR
About renelopestar
IL USA
Member since: 11/27/03
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/11 11:15 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
velosewer said...
Your experience with this pattern is really well researched and implemented. The dress is really pretty and so special. Well done.
6/30/11 0:07 AM
ArtAttack said...
Your dress is darling! I really love the fabric you designed...very impressive...
6/30/11 0:10 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
Okay, so I had to go look it up http://www.karmakraft.com/ I feel so out of the loop. That is just so amazing! Not only did you make the dress you designed the fabric - fabulous. I have so much to learn! Excellent! :)
6/30/11 0:28 AM
Norsecross said...
It doesn't look costumy at all, huge success! I agree with you that the fabric makes the difference here, your cotton muslin reads as a vintage style but your pattern dress is completely modern! Nice twist!
6/30/11 1:54 AM
mm said...
Great fabric and a great dress. Well done you.
6/30/11 3:25 AM
pdiddly said...
such a lovely looking dress
6/30/11 5:56 AM
pdiddly said...
such a lovely looking dress
6/30/11 5:57 AM
FreyaStark said...
A really pretty and elegant dress, and the fabric is gorgeous.
6/30/11 6:18 AM
Haselinchen said...
Very very pretty dress! I love the fabric, I am impressed that you designed it yourself. I would have bought it at the store ;)
6/30/11 8:47 AM
marjoriekh said...
This looks both vintage-lovely and modern on you. I enjoyed the whole story of how you put this together. Are you a biologist? (Just wondering where you got your ideas for the fabric motifs.) And thanks for pointing out Karma Kraft.
6/30/11 10:32 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Wow, it's so great to see this fabric made up into the dress...I loved the fabric when you showed it to me and it's even more beautiful in the dress! Great job!!
6/30/11 10:55 AM
sewbehind said...
That is one sweet dress. Very nice.
6/30/11 11:00 AM
TaraDebbie said...
Wow! What a beautiful dress!! I definitely have to check out Karmakraft now too!!
6/30/11 12:48 PM
21wale said...
What a beautiful dress! The fit looks really good, too.
6/30/11 2:34 PM
Heatherrique said...
Fine looking dress! Nice merge of style and fabric.
6/30/11 3:30 PM
Aroura said...
The fabric you designed is amazing! The dress is a fantastic fit, and looks fabulous on you, not dated at all. Great vintage pattern adapted to modern wear.
6/30/11 3:52 PM
marec said...
How wonderful to have designed your own fabric. (are those shrimp?) The dress is so flattering and I would wear it anywhere with confidence.
7/1/11 11:14 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your lovely dress. Great style, so classy but wearable.
7/2/11 11:01 AM
fourkid said...
This came out beautiful. I love your attention to details. It is indeed very flattering on you.
7/2/11 9:48 PM
homewerk said...
Your fabric design really captures that '40's vibe. Lovely work!
7/7/11 5:26 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful print design and lovely dress! Great colors!
7/9/11 2:55 PM
ladybegood said...
Beautiful. A great testament to the modern wearability of vintage patterns!
7/10/11 12:02 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Great dress and I love the print you designed!
7/11/11 7:38 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
what a fabulous dress!
7/12/11 6:57 PM
Jill Giard said...
Gorgeous! Very wearable and not costume-y at all. Great job!
7/14/11 7:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 3242 OOP
photo
Review by MaryDB on 3/10/09
Read Review

Burda 7155 Pattern
Burda 7155 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0131 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3134
photo
Review by GailV on 8/10/12
Read Review

Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Just a Tank Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us