SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 380 (1940's Jacket, skirt and top)

Review submitted in Vintage Pattern 2011 Contest
Viewed 288 times 
Reviewed by:ALY
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ALYstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 2/21/03
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/11 12:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
loral15 said...
Lovely ensemble- very classic style that looks great for today!
6/30/11 1:21 PM
jennafurry said...
The skirt and blouse are really lovely! Do you have a closer up picture of the blouse? The darts are quite interesting. Also, could you reccomend some place to find information about resizing patterns based on a sloper? It seems like that would be a very useful skill to have!
6/30/11 1:57 PM
21wale said...
Wow, it's very fun to see the interesting, uncommon details in both pieces. I think they both look great - unique, but not out of place today. Nice work on the resizing - I hadn't seriously considered resizing vintage patterns more than a size or two (wouldn't know where to start!). I had thought more of using my sloper and mimicking the design features.
6/30/11 2:26 PM
ALY said...
Within the next few days I will be puting posts on my blog www.sewtawdry.blogspot.com on how I resized the blouse pattern and drafted the pattern for the skirt, with lots of pictures. The information on using a bodice sloper to resize a vintage pattern is from Lynda Maynard's self published book De-Mystifying Fit: Using the moulage to adjust commercial patterns. It is available on Kenneth King's web site. The book has a very negative review here on PR by someone who did not read the description of what she was ordering. I personally found this book extremely helpful.
6/30/11 2:57 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful outfit! The blouse really stands out. It might be "dated", but it is so unique, I think it looks lovely on you. :)
6/30/11 3:47 PM
marec said...
You are rockin' that 40's look- I love it.
7/1/11 10:47 AM
CAgirl said...
My, you really did a lot of work! Kudos to you for your high standards - they show in your finished outfit! Beautiful.
7/1/11 7:23 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking skirt and top!
7/1/11 11:48 PM
fourkid said...
Very nice - vintage is so much fun.
7/2/11 3:45 PM
lbrundage said...
Audrey, it's beautifully done!
7/6/11 9:50 AM
Margaret said...
Lovely skirt and top! I think both pieces look great on you and I really like the fabric combination.
7/9/11 3:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 173224-1000

photo
by: Lynn WA

Review