SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Cruise Club Kim Dress (Cruise Club Kim Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 763 times 
Reviewed by:Knitz
photo

 
 
About Knitz
VA USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/11 5:07 PM
Last Updated:6/28/12 1:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! So simple and chic...and like you said can be dressed up or down...love it!
7/1/11 6:12 PM
CAgirl said...
You look very chic in this dress!
7/1/11 7:36 PM
GlobalMom said...
So glad you posted this one! It's on my wish list...
7/1/11 9:01 PM
qz said...
You look great in this. I just ordered six new patterns. Now I wish I had ordered seven :) oh well... august is another month
7/1/11 9:13 PM
sfshaza said...
THe dress looks great and, you are right, the fit of the armhole is perfection!
7/1/11 9:55 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Don't envy us Aussies too much, we have to send to the US for fabric. Stretch fabric here in non made fabric is appallingly limited.
7/2/11 3:48 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Dress, glad you like the Style Arc patterns :) We have lucked out in oz with a wonderful pattern designer but buying the fabric is not always easy.
7/2/11 6:01 AM
Fran G said...
Very chic and cool looking. May I ask what size you generally buy in RTW and what size you used for this ARC dress? As they are not multi sized, I am interested in learning how their sizing runs. Thanks.
7/2/11 7:04 AM
Knitz said...
Thanks everyone -- appreciate the nice comments! FranG -- forget your RTW size and just go by the measurements listed for each size on the Style Arc site -- I find the patterns very true to the measurements listed. Of course, no matter what pattern company you use it's always possible you may need to make some adjustments, but what I like about Style Arc is that there doesn't seem to be a lot of excess fabric -- especially in the pants. Point taken Australians :-) -- still, three cheers for a great Australian product!
7/2/11 8:16 AM
becca a said...
This dress is so simple and comfortable looking. It looks great on.
7/2/11 9:53 AM
qz said...
Fran G - I wear an 8-10 in RTW as sized here in the states. The style arc pattern size 14 corresponds to a US size 10/medium. my pattern adjustments are less with this line than any other other. HTH
7/2/11 10:10 AM
Renren said...
Very nice dress--glad to see all the positive buzz this new pattern line is getting.
7/2/11 1:42 PM
Knitz said...
FranG -- The size I sewed in the Style Arc garments I've made (2 pants, 1 top and this dress) is a 12 -- but again, I suggest you take honest measurements and go by the measurement chart on the SA web site as I don't think there is much correlation between US RTW sizes and pattern sizes. I 'may' have read somewhere that SA uses standard Australian RTW sizing, but I really don't know that for a fact. I 'do' know that here in the US I can be one of several different RTW sizes -- depends on the manufacturer, the cut of the garment, the type of garment, etc., etc. In any case, my (limited) experience with SA patterns would suggest that they run true to the sizing stated, with sufficient ease for wearing comfort. Hope that makes things a little clearer.
7/2/11 2:07 PM
Fran G said...
Thanks all for your sizing information!
7/3/11 5:38 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely summer dress! Thanks for the review.
7/5/11 9:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Vogue Patterns 8323

photo
by: Legal.Deal...

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now