SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Cruise Club Kim Dress (Cruise Club Kim Dress)

3 more reviews
Viewed 771 times 
Reviewed by:Knitz
photo

 
 
About Knitz
VA USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/11 5:07 PM
Last Updated:6/28/12 1:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely summer dress! Thanks for the review.
7/5/11 9:49 PM
Fran G said...
Thanks all for your sizing information!
7/3/11 5:38 PM
Knitz said...
FranG -- The size I sewed in the Style Arc garments I've made (2 pants, 1 top and this dress) is a 12 -- but again, I suggest you take honest measurements and go by the measurement chart on the SA web site as I don't think there is much correlation between US RTW sizes and pattern sizes. I 'may' have read somewhere that SA uses standard Australian RTW sizing, but I really don't know that for a fact. I 'do' know that here in the US I can be one of several different RTW sizes -- depends on the manufacturer, the cut of the garment, the type of garment, etc., etc. In any case, my (limited) experience with SA patterns would suggest that they run true to the sizing stated, with sufficient ease for wearing comfort. Hope that makes things a little clearer.
7/2/11 2:07 PM
Renren said...
Very nice dress--glad to see all the positive buzz this new pattern line is getting.
7/2/11 1:42 PM
qz said...
Fran G - I wear an 8-10 in RTW as sized here in the states. The style arc pattern size 14 corresponds to a US size 10/medium. my pattern adjustments are less with this line than any other other. HTH
7/2/11 10:10 AM
becca a said...
This dress is so simple and comfortable looking. It looks great on.
7/2/11 9:53 AM
Knitz said...
Thanks everyone -- appreciate the nice comments! FranG -- forget your RTW size and just go by the measurements listed for each size on the Style Arc site -- I find the patterns very true to the measurements listed. Of course, no matter what pattern company you use it's always possible you may need to make some adjustments, but what I like about Style Arc is that there doesn't seem to be a lot of excess fabric -- especially in the pants. Point taken Australians :-) -- still, three cheers for a great Australian product!
7/2/11 8:16 AM
Fran G said...
Very chic and cool looking. May I ask what size you generally buy in RTW and what size you used for this ARC dress? As they are not multi sized, I am interested in learning how their sizing runs. Thanks.
7/2/11 7:04 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Dress, glad you like the Style Arc patterns :) We have lucked out in oz with a wonderful pattern designer but buying the fabric is not always easy.
7/2/11 6:01 AM
ChristmasHills said...
Don't envy us Aussies too much, we have to send to the US for fabric. Stretch fabric here in non made fabric is appallingly limited.
7/2/11 3:48 AM
sfshaza said...
THe dress looks great and, you are right, the fit of the armhole is perfection!
7/1/11 9:55 PM
qz said...
You look great in this. I just ordered six new patterns. Now I wish I had ordered seven :) oh well... august is another month
7/1/11 9:13 PM
GlobalMom said...
So glad you posted this one! It's on my wish list...
7/1/11 9:01 PM
CAgirl said...
You look very chic in this dress!
7/1/11 7:36 PM
ArtAttack said...
Adorable! So simple and chic...and like you said can be dressed up or down...love it!
7/1/11 6:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-122

photo
by: thepegret

Review
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

More Info
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

More Info