SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewy> Rebecca bra (Rebecca bra)

4 more reviews
Viewed 410 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 229
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/11 3:49 PM
Last Updated:7/5/11 4:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
msladyj said...
THank you for the great review. It was very helpful. Your bralooks great.
7/5/11 4:18 PM
sewing for fun said...
Your bra turned out very well! I use specific 3/4 inch or wider strap elastics (very firm, little stretch) from Bramakersupply.com or from fabricdepotco.com - makes a big difference. Thanks for the size warning of the center front. I was curious about why they had you turn the casing to the inside of the cup, rather than the outside, especially with a larger cup size. I, too, like the wider backs MUCH better, both for support, comfort, and minimizing back fat :).
7/5/11 5:49 PM
Renren said...
Oh, it looks like you are back from Africa. Welcome home! And look at this fantastic bra and review! Thanks!
7/5/11 6:48 PM
Alchemist9 said...
I would love to try this bra pattern but you are correct that it is no longer at Elingeria. I went to the Sewy site and can get no response from that site. Any suggestions?
7/5/11 7:40 PM
Alchemist9 said...
I just tried the Sewy site again and can't seem to get anything ordered. I can't even seem to set up a password there and they haven't responded to my e-mail from 2 days ago. Does anyone know of another source for this pattern...........used/uncut would be fine.
7/5/11 8:37 PM
MissCelie said...
Nancy, I think you and I had a few of the same challenges. In my second version, I also went up a cup size and added a wider seam allowance to the bottom edge to accommodate my wide elastics. I definitely prefer getting a pre-made kit with everything included. This looks terrific! Makes me want to rush out and sew my next one :)
7/5/11 8:54 PM
MissCelie said...
Oh, BTW, Summerset stocks wires and has the Rebecca bra. She sent me a pair that should fit much better :D
7/5/11 8:54 PM
Nancywin said...
Alchemist - sorry, I don't know where else to get it. "Miss Celie" I just ordered 2 kits from Summerset! Thanks!
7/5/11 10:41 PM
Jane235 said...
You can also get the pattern from another german site here http://www.spitzen-paradies.de/_deine_dessous_Warengruppe.asp?KAT=104 and the postage is cheaper than from the Sewy site. You only get German instructions with it, but I have made my own translation of the instructions (text only, no pictures!) - if anyone would like a copy, please let me know
7/6/11 3:36 AM
Sharon1952 said...
A very thorough review. Thanks for all the pointers.
7/6/11 6:48 AM
GlobalMom said...
Looks like when I'm back in Germany in the fall I'll have to take a road trip to see the Sewy shop. They're located in a small town outside Cologne. From your review and the one Miss Cellie did, it sounds like they need a little more pursuasion to supply the US market directly because their patterns are so wonderful! When I talked to the owner on bahalf of Miss Cellie, she was concerned about translations, etc, but our gifted PR sewists can manage quite nicely without speaking German!
7/6/11 8:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Made By Rae Washi Dress

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now