Online Sewing Class: Understanding Knit Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4107 (Misses' Renaissance Lined Vest)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1247 times 
Reviewed by:eodwif
photo

 
 
About eodwif
UT USA
Member since: 7/30/03
Reviews: 5 (patterns: 5)
Skill level:Intermediate
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/8/04 8:57 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosewood39 said... (10/7/04 6:07 PM) Reply
Tiger B thanks, I plan to make some renaissance bodices and thought of using the sip ites. It doesn't have to be anything to serious so I think i will try the zip ties, thanks!
Tiger B said... (10/1/04 12:09 PM) Reply
rosewood39, I have also used cable ties as bones in a bodice and I think they work great. I don't know if they would be sufficient for a serious Elizabethan corset, but in a case where you just want the bodice to hold its shape (and to an extent, yours) I would recommend them every time. Easy to shorten with a strong scissors, too!
rosewood39 said... (9/26/04 10:52 PM) Reply
Your bodice looks great? SO the zipties really work? I have heard of using them for bonning but wondered how much support they give, do they give good support?
eodwif said... (9/9/04 10:03 AM) Reply
Yes, Anne, zip ties are those cable wrap tie things. Here's a link to a good picture: http://cableorganizer.com/cable-ties/
AnneM said... (9/9/04 4:26 AM) Reply
Looks like a nice top. I'll second the question: what are zipties? Are those like the cablewrap ties?
Tonya said... (9/9/04 0:04 AM) Reply
What are zipties? Interesting review, thanks.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2009-125

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Burda 8157

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review