SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2444 (Misses' Dresses)

92 more reviews
Viewed 675 times 
Reviewed by:Time4me
photo

 
 
About Time4mestar
BC CANADA
Member since: 1/22/08
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/11 4:22 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BettyJones said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. I think the waist looks perfect where it is. Very lovely dress
5/7/12 6:35 PM
MariaDenmark said...
Great review - I love the dress! Thank you for the thoruogh review - it is very helpful!
4/9/12 10:47 AM
MamaLusco said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for the helpful blog post & review.
3/12/12 10:59 PM
sewinghoneybee said...
So adorable! The sizing info is so helpful as I have the same measurements. Great work!
8/15/11 12:50 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love the vintage feel of your dress. Very cute!
8/3/11 9:32 PM
ggf2005 said...
this brings back memories of when my Mom sewed for me. very cute
8/2/11 1:39 PM
Time4me said...
Thank you, everyone, for you lovely comments. I have always loved gingham but thought it was to feminine for me to pull off. However, when I saw it in kelly green, I figured it would take a chance! I am so glad I did. I think the double darts take a simple bodice and gives it a bit of a sassy edge! I am planning on writing up the petticoat tutorial tonight. Thanks again.
8/2/11 12:13 PM
Cands said...
great dress.
8/2/11 7:50 AM
pdiddly said...
your dress looks wonderful and I especially like the thrift shop bow
8/2/11 4:34 AM
sewtofit said...
That is a really nice color for gingham. I was required to use gingham in my custom patterns class, and I went with black...the instructor was facinated when I added a red belt and wore the "assignment" during class. It was fun, and so too your dress looks fun. I think that details are terrific.
8/2/11 0:12 AM
Cristinagf said...
Love it! Your dress looks very flattering and classy.
8/1/11 9:26 PM
becca a said...
What a lovely dress! Thanks for the thorough review and photographs.
8/1/11 8:59 PM
miausiau said...
Excellent fit and great retro look. I thought it was a vintage pattern for a sec. Unusual construction on the waist but how convenient for fit.
8/1/11 8:41 PM
SewWil said...
Very cute dress! Looks great on you.
8/1/11 8:19 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Pearl bow is fun! All that gingham that matches--kudos to you! The skirt is full but not overwhelming. Lovely.
8/1/11 8:11 PM
Christas said...
Super cute dress! The fit is wonderful, and I love your fabric choice!
8/1/11 7:01 PM
LorrieAnn said...
You achieved a great fitting dress, and you look very nice indeed in it. I found your review very helpful, and I too would be most grateful for a petticoat tutorial.
8/1/11 5:53 PM
JenniferMM said...
This dress is so cute! (Btw, the pink and the lavender versions of this fabric are currently 75% off). Thanks for noting the length - at 5'10", that's always a concern for me too. I'd also be interested in the petticoat tutorial. Great job :)
8/1/11 5:18 PM
persevering said...
You look great in your dress and I appreciate your wonderful review (info on measurements/sizing is so helpful to me!). A tutorial on the petticoat (yes I linked to your Blog) would be amazing too - I'm interested especially to see how you dealt with the waist (like how do you keep the waist of the petticoat to be the least bulky possible).
8/1/11 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Favorite Things The Cargo Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Buy Now
McCall's 5433

photo
by: velosewer

Review