SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8380 (MISSES' DRESS)

37 more reviews
Viewed 554 times 
Reviewed by:redcleo
photo

 
 
About redcleo
MN USA
Member since: 12/23/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/11 3:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redcleo said...
Thanks so much for the kind comments!
8/8/11 2:24 PM
a life in stitches said...
Lovely result. I'm pleased to see the lower neckline, having made this pattern with the higher version a few summers back, and thinking of trying the other style because it is a lovely easy dress to wear in warm weather. I like the way the straps work too, but I did find that once I had them in the right position it was worth putting in a few handstitches to secure them to the casing, on the inside. This saves having to re-position after washing. I remember finding the midriff band a bit close-fitting on first fit - so recommend anyone making it the first time to check that measurement carefully before cutting, or add a little extra on the side-seam allowance in case it's needed.
8/3/11 5:50 AM
sewtofit said...
I made this dress for myself. I think it is cute and very comfortable..thinking about making it long for my upcoming cruise. Yours is really nice.
8/3/11 2:26 AM
The Funky Seamstress said...
I have this pattern in my stash, with plans to make the higher neckline. I'm so glad I get to see it! Yours looks absolutely awesome! I especially love the fit at the back. Thanks for motivating me to make mine!
8/2/11 11:35 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I really like your dress! It is very cute on you and the fabric is perfect!
8/2/11 10:48 PM
ButtonFaith said...
This is a great view and avery pretty dress! I love the print and it made up so well in this pattern! You mentioned you didn't think it was flattering on you...I disagree! Good point about pockets being a good addition to this pattern.
8/2/11 5:38 PM
redcleo said...
It's on the inside... I often use flexi-lace for the inside of the hem, but tried ribbon on a skirt and liked it. I loved that this ribbon coordinated, but it was much too busy to put it on the outside. So it's like a secret, just for me. Like a lacy trim on a slip or a bow on a bra - no one else knows, but it makes me smile.
8/2/11 4:29 PM
Laurie Lou said...
very VERY cute! and the Fabric (from fabric.com :) looks terrific with your red hair. I was curious why you used such a pretty trim on the inside of the dress or is it on the outside and I can't see it. You did a wonderful job and enjoyed reading your review.
8/2/11 4:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now