Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8380 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 545 times 36 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:redcleo
photo
About redcleo
MN USA
Member since: 12/23/08
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/2/11 3:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurie Lou said...
very VERY cute! and the Fabric (from fabric.com :) looks terrific with your red hair. I was curious why you used such a pretty trim on the inside of the dress or is it on the outside and I can't see it. You did a wonderful job and enjoyed reading your review.
8/2/11 4:03 PM
redcleo said...
It's on the inside... I often use flexi-lace for the inside of the hem, but tried ribbon on a skirt and liked it. I loved that this ribbon coordinated, but it was much too busy to put it on the outside. So it's like a secret, just for me. Like a lacy trim on a slip or a bow on a bra - no one else knows, but it makes me smile.
8/2/11 4:29 PM
ButtonFaith said...
This is a great view and avery pretty dress! I love the print and it made up so well in this pattern! You mentioned you didn't think it was flattering on you...I disagree! Good point about pockets being a good addition to this pattern.
8/2/11 5:38 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I really like your dress! It is very cute on you and the fabric is perfect!
8/2/11 10:48 PM
The Funky Seamstress said...
I have this pattern in my stash, with plans to make the higher neckline. I'm so glad I get to see it! Yours looks absolutely awesome! I especially love the fit at the back. Thanks for motivating me to make mine!
8/2/11 11:35 PM
sewtofit said...
I made this dress for myself. I think it is cute and very comfortable..thinking about making it long for my upcoming cruise. Yours is really nice.
8/3/11 2:26 AM
a life in stitches said...
Lovely result. I'm pleased to see the lower neckline, having made this pattern with the higher version a few summers back, and thinking of trying the other style because it is a lovely easy dress to wear in warm weather. I like the way the straps work too, but I did find that once I had them in the right position it was worth putting in a few handstitches to secure them to the casing, on the inside. This saves having to re-position after washing. I remember finding the midriff band a bit close-fitting on first fit - so recommend anyone making it the first time to check that measurement carefully before cutting, or add a little extra on the side-seam allowance in case it's needed.
8/3/11 5:50 AM
redcleo said...
Thanks so much for the kind comments!
8/8/11 2:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 7328 Fall Handbags
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 12/11/06
Read Review

Simplicity 1426 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1426 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7026 Pattern
Burda 7026 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2344
photo
Review by annie11 on 1/12/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us