Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3658 ( Misses' Dress & Top) thumbsup - Type:Dresses
Review submitted in One Pattern Many Looks Contest    printable version
Viewed 1910 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
Reviewed by:marjoriekh
photo
Friend of PR
About marjoriekhstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/28/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/11 10:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Your versions are very cute! Well done!
7/31/11 11:11 PM
Immelu said...
wow, i love all of them. I need to get this pattern!
7/31/11 11:24 PM
Aroura said...
These are all just beautiful!!! I read the entire review, and I think the draped belt you made to cover your cutting mistake on your original wearable muslin is SUCH a great design element! If I ever get this KS pattern, I would incorporate that myself. I'm not sure I could make all those fitting changes you made (what patience!), but these are so beautiful, I'm willing to try!!
8/1/11 1:03 AM
Lori V said...
These are such beautiful dresses.
8/1/11 2:33 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Love the dresses! Great job :)
8/1/11 3:11 AM
JillyBe said...
I would not have guessed these dresses came from that pattern! I would call them a vast improvement over the envelope pics - what a great job, & they all look SO good on you!
8/1/11 3:26 AM
kremmer said...
Thank you for writing this review. I enjoyed reading it. You have made 3 wondeful dresses. Good luck in the competition. You are a very strong candidate!
8/1/11 4:25 AM
Kim12469 said...
These are all great! I love this pattern on you.
8/1/11 7:01 AM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful dresses! Each looks totally different...and you really put in some work on this project! Great job!
8/1/11 10:26 AM
sew2little said...
You have achieved quite distinct looks with this becoming dress.
8/1/11 1:14 PM
homewerk said...
Great job! You really captured the essence of this contest, achieving totally different looks with the same pattern view. I'm impressed and, being an apple, may have to give this 3-piece pattern a try.
8/1/11 3:00 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Love, love, love those dresses! Nice, nice work on these!
8/2/11 8:24 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, great dresses!! The cinnamon wool one is awe-inspiring. And your review is also awe-inspiring -- you must have spent ages getting it this clear and thorough. :) Thanks!
8/2/11 11:01 AM
ElizabethDee said...
These dresses look fantastic on you. You did such an amazing job on the fit, and each of your three three versions is distinctive and so beautiful.
8/2/11 4:34 PM
Nursebennett said...
Wow! Elegant and fantastic job sewing. I'm determined to get fit, style and pattern/fabric marriage worked out to make such lovely garments. Thank you for the inspiration!
8/2/11 6:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your navy blue version. I can see this being a winter staple. Great job and wonderful review. Thanks for taking the time to share.
8/2/11 6:57 PM
marieds said...
Your review inspires me to make my own dress! And I haven't tried that in many years! Thank you!
8/3/11 10:00 PM
marjoriekh said...
Thank you so much for your kind comments, everybody! And a special recognition to those of you who slogged through the whole review! :)
8/4/11 10:46 PM
whistlin dixie said...
I really like how different your dresses are from one another. By using different types of knits, and by adding different design elements, you were able to create three unique looks. Nice job!
8/6/11 3:44 PM
KaSchu said...
Thank you for a very detailed review. Your dresses are beautiful!
8/7/11 6:36 AM
montanachic said...
I love this, your versions look so much better than the envelope! I want the navy one!!!!!!
8/9/11 10:04 AM
Rhoda K said...
I love your dresses. I agree with the patience comment ;-). I have this pattern and have only made the top, but I'm definitely going to steal . . er, copy your belt idea - a nice touch. Thanks for a great review. Congratulations on the win!
8/11/11 11:38 AM
ggf2005 said...
AWESOME!!!!
8/12/11 1:58 PM
Sharon1952 said...
You deserve to win with these 3 stunning dresses. Congratulations.
8/12/11 7:04 PM
purplebouquet said...
Phantastic. You did an excellent job on all three (four?) versions. I particularly love the belt detailing on the cinnamon dress and was most amused to find out is was just a piece of fabric wrapped around. If you end up designing one very much like it, please post instructions. Just looking at the pattern envelope, I wouldn't have guessed the styles would sew up so flattering. You've inspired me for some of my fall and winter wardrobe.
8/12/11 9:04 PM
Coastal Connie said...
I love your belt/angled trim addition! it adds alot. I have to admit that I don't see the issue with the matching seams for your 1st dress...
8/13/11 7:17 PM
cleverclogs said...
Lovely dresses- congratulations on winning the contest! I've made the top and like it but thought the dress would not suit my distinctly apple shape. After your very helpful review I will give it a go- possibly including your lovely draped belt.
8/18/11 8:31 AM
workinonit said...
fabulous effort. great dress. and what a patient family!
8/19/11 9:58 PM
bebro said...
This is a terrific review. I just got this pattern, and know i will use many of your suggestions. Wish i had a lovely long neck!
5/11/13 4:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 5173
photo
Review by bemodi on 9/23/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 501 Pattern
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern
SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8759 Men's shirt
photo
Review by LovelyRita on 10/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 14 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 14 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3102 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us