SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3658 ( Misses' Dress & Top)

26 more reviews
Review submitted in One Pattern Many Looks Contest
Viewed 2100 times 
Reviewed by:marjoriekh
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marjoriekhstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/28/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/11 10:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sue Parrott said...
Your versions are very cute! Well done!
7/31/11 11:11 PM
Immelu said...
wow, i love all of them. I need to get this pattern!
7/31/11 11:24 PM
Aroura said...
These are all just beautiful!!! I read the entire review, and I think the draped belt you made to cover your cutting mistake on your original wearable muslin is SUCH a great design element! If I ever get this KS pattern, I would incorporate that myself. I'm not sure I could make all those fitting changes you made (what patience!), but these are so beautiful, I'm willing to try!!
8/1/11 1:03 AM
Lori V said...
These are such beautiful dresses.
8/1/11 2:33 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Love the dresses! Great job :)
8/1/11 3:11 AM
JillyBe said...
I would not have guessed these dresses came from that pattern! I would call them a vast improvement over the envelope pics - what a great job, & they all look SO good on you!
8/1/11 3:26 AM
kremmer said...
Thank you for writing this review. I enjoyed reading it. You have made 3 wondeful dresses. Good luck in the competition. You are a very strong candidate!
8/1/11 4:25 AM
Kim12469 said...
These are all great! I love this pattern on you.
8/1/11 7:01 AM
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful dresses! Each looks totally different...and you really put in some work on this project! Great job!
8/1/11 10:26 AM
sew2little said...
You have achieved quite distinct looks with this becoming dress.
8/1/11 1:14 PM
homewerk said...
Great job! You really captured the essence of this contest, achieving totally different looks with the same pattern view. I'm impressed and, being an apple, may have to give this 3-piece pattern a try.
8/1/11 3:00 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Love, love, love those dresses! Nice, nice work on these!
8/2/11 8:24 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow, great dresses!! The cinnamon wool one is awe-inspiring. And your review is also awe-inspiring -- you must have spent ages getting it this clear and thorough. :) Thanks!
8/2/11 11:01 AM
ElizabethDee said...
These dresses look fantastic on you. You did such an amazing job on the fit, and each of your three three versions is distinctive and so beautiful.
8/2/11 4:34 PM
Nursebennett said...
Wow! Elegant and fantastic job sewing. I'm determined to get fit, style and pattern/fabric marriage worked out to make such lovely garments. Thank you for the inspiration!
8/2/11 6:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your navy blue version. I can see this being a winter staple. Great job and wonderful review. Thanks for taking the time to share.
8/2/11 6:57 PM
marieds said...
Your review inspires me to make my own dress! And I haven't tried that in many years! Thank you!
8/3/11 10:00 PM
marjoriekh said...
Thank you so much for your kind comments, everybody! And a special recognition to those of you who slogged through the whole review! :)
8/4/11 10:46 PM
whistlin dixie said...
I really like how different your dresses are from one another. By using different types of knits, and by adding different design elements, you were able to create three unique looks. Nice job!
8/6/11 3:44 PM
KaSchu said...
Thank you for a very detailed review. Your dresses are beautiful!
8/7/11 6:36 AM
montanachic said...
I love this, your versions look so much better than the envelope! I want the navy one!!!!!!
8/9/11 10:04 AM
Rhoda K said...
I love your dresses. I agree with the patience comment ;-). I have this pattern and have only made the top, but I'm definitely going to steal . . er, copy your belt idea - a nice touch. Thanks for a great review. Congratulations on the win!
8/11/11 11:38 AM
ggf2005 said...
AWESOME!!!!
8/12/11 1:58 PM
Sharon1952 said...
You deserve to win with these 3 stunning dresses. Congratulations.
8/12/11 7:04 PM
purplebouquet said...
Phantastic. You did an excellent job on all three (four?) versions. I particularly love the belt detailing on the cinnamon dress and was most amused to find out is was just a piece of fabric wrapped around. If you end up designing one very much like it, please post instructions. Just looking at the pattern envelope, I wouldn't have guessed the styles would sew up so flattering. You've inspired me for some of my fall and winter wardrobe.
8/12/11 9:04 PM
Coastal Connie said...
I love your belt/angled trim addition! it adds alot. I have to admit that I don't see the issue with the matching seams for your 1st dress...
8/13/11 7:17 PM
cleverclogs said...
Lovely dresses- congratulations on winning the contest! I've made the top and like it but thought the dress would not suit my distinctly apple shape. After your very helpful review I will give it a go- possibly including your lovely draped belt.
8/18/11 8:31 AM
workinonit said...
fabulous effort. great dress. and what a patient family!
8/19/11 9:58 PM
bebro said...
This is a terrific review. I just got this pattern, and know i will use many of your suggestions. Wish i had a lovely long neck!
5/11/13 4:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Burda 9511

photo
by: A Beginner...

Review
Kwik Sew 2993

photo
by: norsk

Review
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now