SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1179 (Misses' Dress)

38 more reviews
Viewed 517 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/9/11 4:40 PM
Last Updated:8/9/11 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewiing Sue said...
Great color and belt looks good. Thanks for tip on shortening between shoulder and bust and on length. Who would guess?
8/9/11 4:46 PM
becca a said...
Sewiing Sue, I just edited the review to add that I usually need to shorten the bodice between bust and shoulders, but hadn't. So you may not need this alteration.
8/9/11 5:09 PM
redrockcity said...
Thank you for this review, its very helpful! I keep looking at this pattern too as its very popular but had similar concerns about the lack of definition in general and my similarly petite stature. The belt looks great!
8/9/11 5:40 PM
persevering said...
Thank you for sharing your sewing experience with this pattern - all your photos and info given are appreciated. Yes it is a great looking dress on you - Congratulations!
8/9/11 5:48 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the great review and all the lovely pics! I am a petite pear too and thought this pattern would only work for tall willowy types. Yours looks great and the belt really works!
8/9/11 7:18 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Thanks for those tips, especially related to modesty. :)
8/9/11 10:49 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Thanks for those tips, especially related to modesty. :)
8/9/11 10:49 PM
Renren said...
It looks like a great pattern and you got great results even though you had to talk the fabric around to your point of view.
8/10/11 10:08 AM
MamaSewing said...
This dress looks great on you, the fabric, color and style all work together so well.
8/11/11 9:08 AM
Sew Good said...
Nice dress :) I am 5'0" and really appreciate your comments on the length. I love this dress on you with and without the belt. After reading your review, I may make this too!
10/6/13 2:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Lorraine Torrence Designs 0000

photo
by: Sharon1952

Review
McCall's 4593

photo
by: lovenicky

Review
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now