SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1255 (Misses' Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 604 times 
Reviewed by:loti
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lotistarstarstar
FL USA
Member since: 5/27/04
Reviews written: 117
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 110
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/11 8:53 AM
Last Updated:8/21/11 8:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
manola6176 said...
this tunic is a lot of work. The result is beautiful
8/21/11 9:25 AM
Renren said...
It is very beautiful--love the color and those little fabric-covered buttons you made. It looks like a great pattern to use as a springboard to other things, too--blouse, tunic, dress, short/long nightgowns. Lots of appeal with the tucks and ruffles . . . and the cute little buttons!
8/21/11 9:41 AM
Karen FP said...
I just purchased this pattern. Thanks for the detailed review. You touched on some of the areas that I thought might be a challenge. I will give it a try with some silk cotton. I can't imagine attempting this with a slippery fabric. I love the color and you did a great job. Enjoy wearing it as a shirt or a nightie, either way it looks great!
8/21/11 9:52 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the color and fabric choice! What a labor of love and it turned out beautiful! Love it but can't believe it isn't labeled advanced ;-)
8/21/11 9:53 AM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty! I agree about the length and the belt. I love your fabric choice, the color is beautiful on you! Thanks for the details, this was bery helpful.
8/21/11 11:47 AM
EleanorSews said...
Another stunning creation! Great review, too. I have decided I want your closet. You make some of the prettiest things, and do ti so beautifully.
8/21/11 1:07 PM
bananaoil said...
This is a n excellent review, thanks. I like this as a blouse (shorter view) or a tunic to wear over pants or skirt. However, it occurs to me the style (of a long shirt) is what makes it look too short. Don't know if it would be your preference, but I think something styled more like a dress could be worn that short and look attractive. Since I was there the first (& second!) time around, I won't be visiting short skirts again myself. Have at it girls!
8/21/11 1:07 PM
Claverie said...
This looks like a LOT of blouse, which is why I'm staying away from it. But I'm glad you posted the review because the blouse looks great. Love the color. Definitely looks like you put some work into it.
8/21/11 4:20 PM
margk said...
Great fabric and colour. I think this is much more suited to a tunic or blouse. I hope your ruffle edges hold up. Re the difficulty, I think this is often the case with Vogue, isn't it?
8/21/11 6:05 PM
Margaret said...
Very pretty! I love all the little ruffles. I guess it could work as a dress with the whole leggings trend, but agree it looks better as a tunic and without the casing. Great work!
8/22/11 2:31 AM
jannw said...
Very, very pretty..love your ruffles and buttons...it looks as if it comes up pretty high at the sides also..enjoy wearing it and I hope the ruffles wear attractivly..too pretty not to be seen in public!
8/22/11 9:09 AM
Christas said...
Gorgeous!
9/3/11 11:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Butterick 3250

photo
by: mhoutz

Review
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now