SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-128 (Boatneck Sundress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 431 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/11 7:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Shellia said...
Lovely marriage of fabric and style for you! A little lower front neckline would be flattering.
8/19/11 8:41 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. You are right about this fabric working well for this style. Great review as usual.
8/19/11 9:57 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice fabric. Your changes were interesting. I would love to see this style as in the line drawing as well. How about it being perfect for the dressy "little black/red/silver/gold" dress? Holidays in DC and all that? It is a lovely pattern. Your dress is airy and quite lovely.
8/19/11 10:22 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress, Trena. I like the design changes you made for this dress. I may have to copy them. :-) Excellent review.
8/19/11 11:15 AM
a life in stitches said...
I like your dress, but can't understand the neckline being called a boatneck which I would take to mean wide and with a shallow curve. The Burda photo looks a bit more that shape, so maybe your alterations changed it? also the back neck looks quite scooped down, so I'm a bit puzzled.
8/19/11 11:16 AM
rivergum said...
That is a lovely dress and looks very classy on you.
8/19/11 4:55 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Who doesn't love a cute dress with a boat neckline? You have put a nice spin on this pattern that I think would also work for me ;-). I love it! The pearls are a nice touch too!
8/19/11 4:58 PM
Terri A said...
Very pretty!
8/19/11 5:25 PM
pdiddly said...
Great review and your tutorial on youtube is very good - I use a similar method for my cami tops too. Like your version of the dress
8/20/11 3:37 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress, just right for that fabric. Your techniques are clever, too. I would not have thought of pleating skirt lining rather than gathering it, but what a good idea!
8/20/11 7:51 AM
cleverkitty said...
so cute love the fabric choice!!!
8/20/11 10:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Silhouette Patterns 3200

photo
by: Mobycat

Review
McCall's 6348

photo
by: margy.64

Review
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now