SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-128 (Boatneck Sundress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 439 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews: 324 (patterns: 324)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 324 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/11 7:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said... (8/20/11 10:13 AM) Reply
so cute love the fabric choice!!!
FreyaStark said... (8/20/11 7:51 AM) Reply
A lovely dress, just right for that fabric. Your techniques are clever, too. I would not have thought of pleating skirt lining rather than gathering it, but what a good idea!
pdiddly said... (8/20/11 3:37 AM) Reply
Great review and your tutorial on youtube is very good - I use a similar method for my cami tops too. Like your version of the dress
Terri A said... (8/19/11 5:25 PM) Reply
Very pretty!
VirginiasDghter said... (8/19/11 4:58 PM) Reply
Who doesn't love a cute dress with a boat neckline? You have put a nice spin on this pattern that I think would also work for me ;-). I love it! The pearls are a nice touch too!
rivergum said... (8/19/11 4:55 PM) Reply
That is a lovely dress and looks very classy on you.
a life in stitches said... (8/19/11 11:16 AM) Reply
I like your dress, but can't understand the neckline being called a boatneck which I would take to mean wide and with a shallow curve. The Burda photo looks a bit more that shape, so maybe your alterations changed it? also the back neck looks quite scooped down, so I'm a bit puzzled.
Mahogany Stylist said... (8/19/11 11:15 AM) Reply
Beautiful dress, Trena. I like the design changes you made for this dress. I may have to copy them. :-) Excellent review.
Mufffet said... (8/19/11 10:22 AM) Reply
Very nice fabric. Your changes were interesting. I would love to see this style as in the line drawing as well. How about it being perfect for the dressy "little black/red/silver/gold" dress? Holidays in DC and all that? It is a lovely pattern. Your dress is airy and quite lovely.
SewWil said... (8/19/11 9:57 AM) Reply
Very pretty dress. You are right about this fabric working well for this style. Great review as usual.
Shellia said... (8/19/11 8:41 AM) Reply
Lovely marriage of fabric and style for you! A little lower front neckline would be flattering.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern Grey Lady Dress

photo
by: julliams

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details