SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3484 (Men Shirts)

23 more reviews
Viewed 277 times 
Reviewed by:Eme
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Emestar
MA USA
Member since: 7/4/04
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/11 12:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trenessa said...
I can't give any critical feedback but just had to say that this is a nice looking shirt, knowing that it's your first men's shirt takes it up a notch (well done!) and inspires me to try it. I'll certainly have to get this pattern to use when I'm ready to make my first mens shirt.
8/21/11 1:09 PM
craftygamma said...
I really like the shirt, and even in ready made, the construction is much simpler now. I have not made a men's shirt in many years, and the only choices then were with collar stand, yoke, etc. To me the pocket looks too big for the shirt size. Did they have different size pockets for the various shirt sizes? I think about an inch less width would get it out from the underarm.
8/21/11 2:02 PM
marec said...
This is a really nice shirt! The pocket is wonderful and the collar looks very nice. I am so impressed that you matched the teeny plaid. Your husband looks pleased, and that is really all that matters in the long run.
8/21/11 2:02 PM
Eme said...
Thanks, all! craftygamma - yes, there _was_ only one size pocket...which of course, doesn't really make sense...I edited my review to reflect that. thx!
8/21/11 2:47 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I am further impressed with your cooperative model... Seems like most DH's here patiently pose for one quick pic and they split. Nice shirt? Of course it is.. Scale down the pocket a bit & you are on your way to a wonderful casual shirt and have some shirt practice. I recommend David Coffin for detailed dress shirt how to's.
8/21/11 7:37 PM
Deepika said...
This is a very well made shirt. Saying it also because I've seen it in person, on person? Emily you've outdone yourself again! Let me remember my first shirt for Gagan. Oh and also the last :) But I do remember it was a kwik sew pattern also. I think you might be better off looking at a different pattern for the shirt style you're wanting. Look at 3883.
8/22/11 3:19 PM
allycovey said...
you did a wonderful job congrats now just make hime four or five more. LOL
8/22/11 4:32 PM
cairncrew said...
I think your shirt is wonderful and your hubby looks great in it. As far as the detail level, are you comparing a bowling shirt to a RTW dress shirt? That really isn't quite fair as the styles are totally different. For a bowling shirt this is pretty spot on. No collar stand, a bit longer short sleeve ( even on the model) and detail provided by the typical color blocking used ina lot of them. This pattern would translate well to a Hawaiian shirt also I think. I agree the pocket looks a bit oversized. You might want to look at Colette's mens shirt pattern. I believe it provides more detailing but I'm not sure it has all the RTW features of a dress/sport shirt.
9/8/11 7:29 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

New Look 6785

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Butterick 5825

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now