Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3484 (Men Shirts) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 271 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Eme
photo
Friend of PR
About Emestar
MA USA
Member since: 7/4/04
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/11 12:59 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trenessa said...
I can't give any critical feedback but just had to say that this is a nice looking shirt, knowing that it's your first men's shirt takes it up a notch (well done!) and inspires me to try it. I'll certainly have to get this pattern to use when I'm ready to make my first mens shirt.
8/21/11 1:09 PM
craftygamma said...
I really like the shirt, and even in ready made, the construction is much simpler now. I have not made a men's shirt in many years, and the only choices then were with collar stand, yoke, etc. To me the pocket looks too big for the shirt size. Did they have different size pockets for the various shirt sizes? I think about an inch less width would get it out from the underarm.
8/21/11 2:02 PM
marec said...
This is a really nice shirt! The pocket is wonderful and the collar looks very nice. I am so impressed that you matched the teeny plaid. Your husband looks pleased, and that is really all that matters in the long run.
8/21/11 2:02 PM
Eme said...
Thanks, all! craftygamma - yes, there _was_ only one size pocket...which of course, doesn't really make sense...I edited my review to reflect that. thx!
8/21/11 2:47 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I am further impressed with your cooperative model... Seems like most DH's here patiently pose for one quick pic and they split. Nice shirt? Of course it is.. Scale down the pocket a bit & you are on your way to a wonderful casual shirt and have some shirt practice. I recommend David Coffin for detailed dress shirt how to's.
8/21/11 7:37 PM
Deepika said...
This is a very well made shirt. Saying it also because I've seen it in person, on person? Emily you've outdone yourself again! Let me remember my first shirt for Gagan. Oh and also the last :) But I do remember it was a kwik sew pattern also. I think you might be better off looking at a different pattern for the shirt style you're wanting. Look at 3883.
8/22/11 3:19 PM
allycovey said...
you did a wonderful job congrats now just make hime four or five more. LOL
8/22/11 4:32 PM
cairncrew said...
I think your shirt is wonderful and your hubby looks great in it. As far as the detail level, are you comparing a bowling shirt to a RTW dress shirt? That really isn't quite fair as the styles are totally different. For a bowling shirt this is pretty spot on. No collar stand, a bit longer short sleeve ( even on the model) and detail provided by the typical color blocking used ina lot of them. This pattern would translate well to a Hawaiian shirt also I think. I agree the pocket looks a bit oversized. You might want to look at Colette's mens shirt pattern. I believe it provides more detailing but I'm not sure it has all the RTW features of a dress/sport shirt.
9/8/11 7:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 16599-1003
photo
Review by TalyQ on 7/13/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern
You Sew Girl Baguette Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag
My Favorite Duffle Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Perfect Peasant Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4337 simplicity
photo
Review by vintageclo... on 1/16/09
Read Review

Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8820 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1783 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us