SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Simple chic 8 (Blouse)

Viewed 279 times 
Reviewed by:TracyTheMaterialGirl
photo

 
 
About TracyTheMaterialGirlstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/11 8:45 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said... (8/25/11 10:40 AM) Reply
This is a good reminder for us all. It's always tempting to just right into something that just feels right. I hope you will make another perhaps in pre-washed fabric. It looks like it will be a great top on you.
becca a said... (8/25/11 9:06 AM) Reply
How terribly disappointing to have your fabric melt in the wash. Your top is a lovely shape and I'm sure you'll have better results in better fabric.
FreyaStark said... (8/25/11 2:33 AM) Reply
I think you have to be very wary of vintage fabrics as they might well be worn or weakened, and I don't think you can trust non-mainstream vendors (I can't think of a better term) completely. Fabric I've bought from discount vendors has turned out to have uneven wear patches, suggesting great age, or has ripped when touched, suggesting either age or perhaps being faulty. Better luck next time. The pattern is worth persisting with if you basically like it.
mm said... (8/24/11 9:08 PM) Reply
What a shame. I hope you make it again and better luck next time.
Elona said... (8/24/11 12:15 PM) Reply
Aw, rats! It is indeed a cute little top, and what a pity to have it partly dissolve in the wash. You know, based on long years of experience, I do not fully trust ANY vendor to have labelled things perfectly accurately, so I simply wash and dry every piece of fabric that comes into the house. No surprises there--not any more!
a life in stitches said... (8/24/11 10:01 AM) Reply
What a shame, and what a hard way to learn how careful you have to be when buying vintage fabric to sew with. I do hope you make up the pattern again in a new fabric, the design has such a nice simplicity. You would hope sellers at fairs would identify fabrics and tell you whether they have trial washed them.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Burda 4575

photo
by: HolleyM

Review
Simplicity 2126

photo
by: lauramae

Review
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Pattern Details