Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1252 (Misses' Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1152 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:JoanneM
photo
About JoanneMstar
MN USA
Member since: 12/26/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/11 10:57 PM
Last Updated:8/26/11 11:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
It's going to be beautiful! I love the color...can't wait to see it finished...
8/25/11 4:58 PM
blessedtosew said...
I am planning on making that, too. I love the color you chose.
8/25/11 7:38 PM
hme75 said...
I like it much better in a solid color than a pattern. I can't wait to see the final result!
8/25/11 11:09 PM
Karine said...
I can't wait to see the finished dress. The top is beautiful. The lines of the bodice and neck are so flattering. Keep persevering!
8/26/11 9:07 AM
dingyadi said...
It is already looking gorgeous - looking forward to seeing it finished.
8/26/11 10:43 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Looks great.
8/26/11 12:32 PM
no7262 said...
I do love the color and the look of this top on you! Looks much better on you then the envelope! Nora :)
8/26/11 6:44 PM
lynnewill said...
such an intriguing design, but there is a lot going on and unless the fabric was super light weight could get bulky. I admire your attitude and appreciate you sharing your journey with us.
8/27/11 7:40 AM
HelenMcG said...
Thanks for sharing your efforts. This review comes across as so positive. It was something that gave you such learning opportunites and even though you say you will not move forward with this particular project, the effects of what you learned will be of such value going forward with other projects. Look forward to reading more of you reviews.
8/27/11 10:07 AM
Batik said...
Very nice.
8/28/11 0:18 AM
Terri A said...
What a project! Great review - thanks so much:-)
8/28/11 1:18 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love the photos here, and I've already bought this for myself for a wintry knit dress. I'm still not sure why you're not continuing with it, as it looks fabulous on you!
8/28/11 5:39 PM
gabc said...
Thanks for posting your review, it does look like an interesting dress but it also looks extremely cosy! I guess it needs just the right fabric - but I do think this bodice looks really good on you. After reading your review I know if I try this one I will make sure I don't sacrifice a special fabric to start with!
8/29/11 9:54 AM
AuntieShel said...
All I can say is "wow," thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I think it looks excellent on you, but understand if it is not the "look" you were hoping for. I, too, fell in love with this pattern when I first saw it in Vogue Patterns Magazine (also wondered why they used a print.) I did not buy the pattern because of my dislike of gathering (almost anything.) I can see from your excellent review that I probably would have been very disappointed with my own results. I am sorry you did not get what you were hoping for, but you sure wrote an excellent review. Thank you!!!
9/2/11 4:59 PM
sarahd27 said...
Thank you for reviewing! I'm sorry the dress didn't work out for you. I'm thinking about making this pattern and am glad to hear that the directions are clear.
9/20/11 3:57 PM
KozyKitty said...
Thank you for the review. I fell in love with this pattern the minute I saw it. One thing I've learned about Vogue patterns is that they provide way too much ease. I pretty much ignore their sizing. Their sizing indicates that I should wear about a size 14 but typically an 8 - 10 fits perfectly. The photos of the red (muslin?) look to me like the dress is a little big. Most knits, particularly those with stretch, should have some negative ease if they are used in a fitted garment. I found a nice version of this dress on a blog and the blogger explains how she adjusted the sizing for the rouching to lay correctly. She also used tricot lining because the lack of lengthwise stretch added stability to the side seams without need for stay tape. http://amandasadventuresinsewing.blogspot.com/2011/09/vogue-1252-tracy-reese-knit-dress-w.html
9/29/11 12:33 PM
Suzanne in Michigan said...
Thanks so much for this review- particularly since you didn't finish the project- the very best reason to use pattern review.com!!! I was lucky enough to get the same exact fabric as used in the pattern photograph- and promise to post a review- success or not!
1/1/12 3:32 PM
Ivy Rose said...
Thanks for the review. I have decided the pattern is not for me.
2/27/12 10:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 3854 Shorts
photo
Review by pterion on 5/20/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6594
photo
Review by SueV on 6/9/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7074 Pattern
Burda 7074 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us