SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 1001 (Macaron)

57 more reviews
Viewed 472 times 
Reviewed by:aliesje
photo

 
 
About aliesjestar
CANADA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/12 1:44 AM
Last Updated:9/19/12 1:48 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
If you have some black fabric and can fold it to different widths to see what might work against the dress as is, it might be useful. That would help you to really see what a midriff band might look like. Before removing the sleeves, test for the midriff. Also, how you style the dress for wearing may have more impact than you might think. With the right accessories, the sleeves may be a non-issue.
9/17/11 7:03 PM
wenznz said...
I agree it definitely would benefit from the contrast in the midriff band. As to the sleeves, I'm not too sure that removing them is going to give you a look you are happy with either. Love the dress - have all but finished mine today ;-)
9/18/11 6:08 AM
aliesje said...
thanks both of you! thanks eleanor for suggesting that i pin up some black fabric to see how it would look - i like the extra waist definition it provides! i'm pretty sure i'm going to nix the sleeves, but i'll give it a couple more sleeps :)
9/19/11 3:58 PM
mondari80516 said...
I am inspired by the use of plaid and print. Travelling now for the Thanksgiving Day holiday; can't wait to get back to my stash to start playing with plaids and prints. THANKS for the inspiration. And, yes, the dress looks great. I hope you've finished and are wearing it!
11/25/11 12:58 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
I love this version of Collette! I think it is the cutest when the sleeves are left off. I also adore your fabric combo....great job!
9/19/12 8:49 AM
Athene said...
You look fabulous. It's a great dress.
9/19/12 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2843

photo
by: jorth

Review
McCall's 6109

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Buy Now