Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Advance Pattern Company: 9948 (Half-Size Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 280 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:wingamajig
photo
Friend of PR
About wingamajigstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/27/11
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/11 7:46 PM
Last Updated:10/6/11 7:51 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
I've seen vintage patterns before that say "half size". What exactly does that mean? Is the whole pattern half scale, or does it just mean it's between sizes (like the 18-1/2 listed)? Very pretty dress! Great job and the fitting details. It is very colorful, love the fabric! Great dress, it looks vintage but also very modern and wearable.
10/6/11 7:54 PM
annie1129 said...
It looks like good fit to me, nice use of the fabric.
10/6/11 9:29 PM
21wale said...
Very neat! I like the plaid. And how interesting to cut open the darts.
10/6/11 11:47 PM
sewbarbie said...
I think you did a great job!
10/7/11 2:16 AM
Auntchelle said...
I also think you did a wonderful job. Looks like a fun dress to wear. (I believe that a vintage 'half size' means that it's a petite cut. I could be wrong tho'!)
10/7/11 3:31 AM
happytobehere said...
I agree that half size means petite. Your dress looks very fun to wear.
10/7/11 8:57 AM
cleverkitty said...
does look great on you despite all the fitting you had to do ,I learned something too about half sizes in these vintage patterns.
10/7/11 9:42 AM
Time4me said...
Half sizes are for women (pattern companies called them "stout") who are 5'3" and shorter. So, yes, petite LOL! Really lovely dress. I adore the plaid. I have my eye out for a plaid cotton and yours is just lovely.
10/7/11 12:10 PM
wingamajig said...
Yep, Time4me is correct about the half sizes. From a vintage Sears Catalog: "...are you a shorter woman's size? For the mature figure 5 feet 3 inches and under without shoes. Shorter from shoulder to waist and fuller throughout than Miss's figure." To compare to Miss's - a size 18 on this chart from 1950 is 37, 30, 39.5 and a 20 is 39, 32, 41 - but the half size 18 1/2 is 39, 33, 42 - so petite and also larger proportions.
11/16/11 0:03 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by NhiHuynh on 3/11/12
Read Review

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee
Dixie DIY Summer Concert Tee

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8789
photo
Review by rennaissan... on 7/11/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6808 Pattern
New Look 6808 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2481 Pattern( Size XS )
Simplicity 2481 Pattern( Size XS )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us