SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 9948 (Half-Size Dress)

Viewed 286 times 
Reviewed by:wingamajig
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About wingamajigstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/27/11
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/11 7:46 PM
Last Updated:10/6/11 7:51 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
I've seen vintage patterns before that say "half size". What exactly does that mean? Is the whole pattern half scale, or does it just mean it's between sizes (like the 18-1/2 listed)? Very pretty dress! Great job and the fitting details. It is very colorful, love the fabric! Great dress, it looks vintage but also very modern and wearable.
10/6/11 7:54 PM
annie1129 said...
It looks like good fit to me, nice use of the fabric.
10/6/11 9:29 PM
21wale said...
Very neat! I like the plaid. And how interesting to cut open the darts.
10/6/11 11:47 PM
sewbarbie said...
I think you did a great job!
10/7/11 2:16 AM
Auntchelle said...
I also think you did a wonderful job. Looks like a fun dress to wear. (I believe that a vintage 'half size' means that it's a petite cut. I could be wrong tho'!)
10/7/11 3:31 AM
happytobehere said...
I agree that half size means petite. Your dress looks very fun to wear.
10/7/11 8:57 AM
cleverkitty said...
does look great on you despite all the fitting you had to do ,I learned something too about half sizes in these vintage patterns.
10/7/11 9:42 AM
Time4me said...
Half sizes are for women (pattern companies called them "stout") who are 5'3" and shorter. So, yes, petite LOL! Really lovely dress. I adore the plaid. I have my eye out for a plaid cotton and yours is just lovely.
10/7/11 12:10 PM
wingamajig said...
Yep, Time4me is correct about the half sizes. From a vintage Sears Catalog: "...are you a shorter woman's size? For the mature figure 5 feet 3 inches and under without shoes. Shorter from shoulder to waist and fuller throughout than Miss's figure." To compare to Miss's - a size 18 on this chart from 1950 is 37, 30, 39.5 and a 20 is 39, 32, 41 - but the half size 18 1/2 is 39, 33, 42 - so petite and also larger proportions.
11/16/11 0:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Vogue Patterns 9772

photo
by: lsaspacey

Review
McCall's 6009

photo
by: mlichtenwa...

Review
Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Buy Now