Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3407 (Misses Tops) - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest    printable version
Viewed 252 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Renren
photo
About Renrenstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/20/05
Reviews written: 227
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/11 1:01 AM
Last Updated:11/17/11 1:03 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
treefrog said...
Well done Renren! Looks like you've done really well with the bindings. Could the armhole also be gaping because the armhole is too long - this is usually the problem for me?
11/17/11 2:07 AM
jannw said...
Great bindings!! Interesting solution to the underarm gaping problem..I usually just sew it in tighter..will have to consider yours for the next time. A very nice useful top! Shall we see lots more?
11/17/11 6:05 AM
Renren said...
treefrog, I think you are right about the armholes. I remember you always fold out some in the chest region (armhole to armhole) and that you also do a narrow shoulder adjustment. I forgot about those things as well as the high round and the forward shoulder. Next time I will try to incorporate them. Also, when I came off the lower part of the armhole, I jumped from an L to part way between an L and an XL and this would have added some additional width. So thanks for the reminder about the too long armhole. As a matter of fact, I did take up the shoulder seams by 5/8 inch to help lift up the armhole, but I couldn't take much more because I would lose needed length. I probably better add this to the review!
11/17/11 11:35 AM
Renren said...
jannw, I believe that's what two of the other reviewers did, too. The 3rd reviewer did not have trouble with any excess fabric there. The technique of sewing the binding snugly was offered in the comment. I think I just had too much excess fabric/gaping for the snug binding method to work. Yep, I'll definitely be sewing lots more. I'll keep refining the fit. This fabric is so sheer the top will probably end up being used as a camisole. Until the flash exposure I did not realize how sheer!
11/17/11 11:37 AM
Kayseri said...
A very useful looking tank, and the pattern looks like a great basic
11/17/11 6:56 PM
Judy Kski said...
Thanks for a very informative review. This is a great top to use as a shell or for workout attire. I'm still peaking and tweeking a pattern I have (#108) from Pamela's Patterns, trying to get that perfect fit for the tank top. I'll probably be making version 3 for the Fabric Stash contest since I'm so busy with Christmas gifts right now. Maybe I'll finally have a TNT in January.
11/17/11 10:56 PM
Margaret said...
Great review! This is a nice looking top and I hope future versions go well. If you decide to shorten the armhole in the pattern, you could also lengthen at the hem next time so you don't lose the length. Often I find KS tops are a bit shorter below the waist than I'd like.
11/18/11 6:06 AM
marykpfist said...
Very nice! Clever thoughts on the underarm seams, will have to try that. I think I actually have this pattern! (Running to check....)
11/30/11 6:46 PM
Terri A said...
Nice - the type of knit makes such a huge difference in the difficulty level of the pattern don't you think? You did a great job with yours.
11/30/11 9:05 PM
cerulean said...
Great job, Ren! You did a great job with the bindings! It will be a good summer top! I've had this pattern and I've been meaning to try it! Thanks for reviewing it!
7/30/12 9:09 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 4384 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 10/24/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )
Peek-A Boo Rory Double Bubble Skrit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 3097 Sweatshirt
photo
Review by Margaret on 2/17/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2478 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us