SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6433 (Misses' Dresses In 3 Lengths)

13 more reviews
Viewed 696 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 263
Favored by: 151 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/11 10:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lhan said...
This looks extremely elegant. The fabric is beautiful and the fit is so well developed - thanks for the views of your (well-practiced) pattern alterations - a very clear and helpful addition. The front neckline is very attractive, and I think your dress looks a lot more interesting than the pattern views. It looks like a dress that would be very useful. Thanks for your helpful review.
11/10/11 10:21 PM
Sherril Miller said...
The white is so lovely on your beautiful dark skin. You got the fit perfect and I agree that your dress looks much more lovely than the cover model's dress. I think you need to make it again. Even though it shows cleavage, I think that the narrow neckline makes it appear more modest.
11/10/11 10:43 PM
marec said...
That is a great design, and your workmanship has turned out a beautiful dress! I love it in the winter white (is that the shade you used?) . The neckline is interesting and the pleating is a detail I love, love, love.
11/10/11 11:15 PM
delfinelise said...
This is so unique! I love the fabric choice, and the pleats on this pattern are so clever. Your dress looks very pretty. Thanks for the thorough review!
11/11/11 5:32 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very very nice! More and more, we have to be very careful when using the big 4 patterns, sizing truly needs improving with them!! Great job in fixing this problem and thanks for sharing!
11/11/11 6:32 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Wow - stunning results on this one.
11/11/11 7:46 AM
cleverkitty said...
WOW just Beautiful and good job on working the fitting out.
11/11/11 8:50 AM
Andreahg said...
I've been going back and forth on getting this pattern but your dress has pushed me over the fence. WOW! They should use your picture for the pattern cover! Your dress looks so much better on you than the model.
11/11/11 9:13 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous dress! The fit and fabric are lovely. Your dress is so much nicer than the views on the pattern.
11/11/11 9:25 AM
Julia C said...
I love your dress. It does not look too low to me.
11/11/11 9:47 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks everyone. Marec - The color is cream. This dress was made for our annual Unity Conference (September). I won't wear it again until summer.
11/11/11 11:05 AM
Heatherrique said...
Classy, modern, and glamourous!
11/11/11 11:46 AM
Terri A said...
Gorgeous dress. Thanks for the helpful info on alterations. Everything about it looks classy and elegant.
11/11/11 4:18 PM
prttynpnk said...
Thank you for this well thought out review, you have answered some questions I had about this and yours is lovely!
11/11/11 8:55 PM
pdiddly said...
absolutely stunning on you
11/12/11 10:42 AM
Sue Parrott said...
So very pretty and classy! I love it and it fits you beautifully!
11/12/11 10:29 PM
Sue Parrott said...
So very pretty and classy! I love it and it fits you beautifully!
11/12/11 10:29 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
What a great white dress! Love it!
11/13/11 11:41 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks everyone!
11/14/11 4:54 PM
Sheila457 said...
Lovely dress and love the pleating detail.
2/24/12 5:13 PM
Sew it seams said...
This dress is gorgeous on you. (You are gorgeous, as well.) The fabric choice is perfect for this dress. It looks very classy and elegant.
2/24/12 6:07 PM
bindu1 said...
The dress is lovely on you. Reminds me of tennis! Thanks for the tips on the neckline and sleeve - I had my fingers burned on a recent attempt on a jacket, so I will be taking more care before cutting out the pattern pieces. I think I see what you mean by the armscye hole being too low for the sleeve piece - so when you reach around it pulls the bodice's side front, right?
4/1/12 6:04 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Yes. The armscye must come up a bit for better mobility.
4/2/12 10:01 AM
salsera7 said...
You look stunning in this dress and you did a great job!
6/13/12 12:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Sew Chic Pretty Petticoat Pattern (ln1208)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8089

photo
by: fauxgetabo...

Review