SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3995 (Men's Shirt and Slacks)

Viewed 266 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews: 67 (patterns: 61)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 121 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/11 11:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Dr. P. said... (4/6/13 9:17 AM) Reply
I love the shirt - actually, everything you sew is awesome! But I'm commenting here to thank you for turning me on to vintage men's patterns. I have a hard to fit adult son whose body type may be better suited to former eras. Also liked your decisions re: what to keep and what to jettison in interpreting this pattern.
HolleyM said... (1/30/12 6:22 AM) Reply
HI Peter, I love your reviews. I see from your photos this is a McCalls pattern, not Butterick.
Peter in NYC said... (12/3/11 7:06 AM) Reply
Thanks, guys!
Sue Parrott said... (12/2/11 11:08 PM) Reply
Nice work, love the fabric, and the vintage details are great!
FreyaStark said... (12/1/11 9:35 PM) Reply
Nice work - it's a great shirt and made to a high standard. He's a lucky man indeed.
cleverkitty said... (12/1/11 9:17 AM) Reply
love the details on this shirt, looks fabulous!!!!
mssewcrazy said... (12/1/11 8:25 AM) Reply
That looks really really nice. I love seeing those vintage patterns in men's wear come to life. The cut on these combined with the nice fabric is so expensive looking. Nice work!
Margaret said... (12/1/11 4:41 AM) Reply
Nicely done shirt. All the details and the fabric look great and I think the color suits him. I love the 1940s and 50s McCall's envelopes too!
rivergum said... (11/30/11 1:41 PM) Reply
Lovely print and the vintage cotton looks soft and buttery even in the photo. I think the button on the back of the collar is a nice touch too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Lekala Patterns 4042

photo
by: Mazzygirl

Review
Chloe Handbag Paper Pattern

Chloe Handbag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Pattern Details