SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5822 (bag in 3 sizes)

6 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 323 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews: 311 (patterns: 289)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 54 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/11 9:44 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Margaret said... (12/15/11 6:16 AM) Reply
Thanks, everyone! JDpenelope, yes, it does call for buckram, but I'm guessing they may have meant a somewhat lighter weight. The place I got this from offers 4 weights and I think what I have might have been the heaviest. The machine you have sounds great! I think I've seen industrial shoe machines that are similar.
Elemenopeo said... (12/14/11 8:51 AM) Reply
nice!
JDpenelope said... (12/14/11 6:37 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review -- Your bag came out great. Did the pattern call for buckram? It IS very stiff. I have done exactly what you had to do -- pull my free arm home machine over the edge of the table, in order to be able to sew certain parts of a bag. Now I have a cylinder industrial machine and the arm sticks out with no table underneathl, which really helps if you sew lots of bags.)
Terri A said... (12/13/11 3:12 PM) Reply
This is exactly the kind of thing I want to know about the construction of a bag pattern - thanks so much!
jannw said... (12/13/11 12:42 PM) Reply
Great fabrics and a very nice bag! Love the birds!
Rhonda in Montreal said... (12/13/11 11:00 AM) Reply
NO alterations, though!! ;D
jjhallum said... (12/13/11 10:55 AM) Reply
Nice bag....I really like your fabric combination.
renren said... (12/13/11 10:02 AM) Reply
A visually interesting bag--the fabrics go together nicely. Thanks for the heads up about the zipper and buckram.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

StyleArc Ursula ponte skirt

photo
by: lah119

Review
Self Drafted Pattern Breton Top and Chanel Bag

photo
by: JetSetSewi...

Review
Pamela's Patterns The Versatile Twin Set Pattern

Pamela's Patterns The Versatile Twin Set Pattern

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns New Necklines & sleeves Pattern

Pamela's Patterns New Necklines & sleeves Pattern

Pattern Details