SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5822 (bag in 3 sizes)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Pattern Stash 2011 Contest
Viewed 258 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/11 9:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Crafts    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
A visually interesting bag--the fabrics go together nicely. Thanks for the heads up about the zipper and buckram.
12/13/11 10:02 AM
jjhallum said...
Nice bag....I really like your fabric combination.
12/13/11 10:55 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
NO alterations, though!! ;D
12/13/11 11:00 AM
jannw said...
Great fabrics and a very nice bag! Love the birds!
12/13/11 12:42 PM
Terri A said...
This is exactly the kind of thing I want to know about the construction of a bag pattern - thanks so much!
12/13/11 3:12 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the review -- Your bag came out great. Did the pattern call for buckram? It IS very stiff. I have done exactly what you had to do -- pull my free arm home machine over the edge of the table, in order to be able to sew certain parts of a bag. Now I have a cylinder industrial machine and the arm sticks out with no table underneathl, which really helps if you sew lots of bags.)
12/14/11 6:37 AM
Elemenopeo said...
nice!
12/14/11 8:51 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! JDpenelope, yes, it does call for buckram, but I'm guessing they may have meant a somewhat lighter weight. The place I got this from offers 4 weights and I think what I have might have been the heaviest. The machine you have sounds great! I think I've seen industrial shoe machines that are similar.
12/15/11 6:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Buy Now