Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2011-120 (Dress with Front Ruffle) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 463 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:ImListening
photo
About ImListeningstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/24/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/11 12:47 PM
Last Updated:12/25/11 11:33 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Burda fit is not the same as US patterns, so you have to really go by the measurement chart. Even then, a muslin or two is a must. But I like your dress and think it's really pretty, and you did a very nice job with the ruffle.
12/23/11 1:53 PM
Anne Cherry said...
I like your sleeve buttons! Agree with dbsewer, best to go by the measurement chart with Burda. I like Burda (and European patterns generally) better than the US 'Big 4' (Vogue, Butterick, McCalls. Simplicity) - they are more dependable - ie - I can pretty much make a size 42 and know it will fit, whatever the style.
12/23/11 4:45 PM
ImListening said...
Thank you for your comments. My point was that I DID go with Burda's measurement charts on my first muslin and it was way to small. I had to go with a size on their charts which indicated it would fit a person much larger than I am to get a reasonable fit.
12/23/11 4:52 PM
Anne Cherry said...
ah...I see your point! Signed: ImNotReadingAsCloselyasIShould ;-P
12/23/11 5:08 PM
BeaJay said...
Love the outfit - really like how you have done the buttons. It looks great on you.
12/23/11 5:13 PM
Aroura said...
I think it turned out beautifully! You did a great job with all that work getting a good fit.
12/23/11 5:27 PM
tsedai said...
Very nice! I usually can go with Burda's sizing - it has been very consistent for me. Did you remember to add seam allowances when you traced? I nearly forgot on my first Burda and remembered only just before I started cutting fabric. You look much slimmer than I am, and I would think a 42 would be too large... Otherwise this must be a very oddly sized pattern for Burda. In any case, very nice review - love your dress!
12/25/11 9:57 AM
ImListening said...
yes, I added 5/8" seam allowances.
12/25/11 11:28 AM
SewWil said...
Beautiful dress!
12/25/11 11:52 AM
persevering said...
What a lovely dress! Thank you very much for your review and discussion especially regarding sizing.
12/25/11 12:17 PM
yummymummy38 said...
This question Sounds really obvious, but is it recommended for knit fabrics only? It's unusual for Burda to be really two sizes out otherwise. Otherwise, it is easy to forget to add seam allowances to something ;)
12/25/11 6:38 PM
ImListening said...
Thank you all for your comments. The pattern calls for "wool and blends". And the fabric used in the magazine photos is wool crepe. AS MENTIONED IN THE REVIEW AND IN THE COMMENTS ABOVE, 5/8" SEAM ALLOWANCES WERE ADDED.
12/27/11 8:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Kwik Sew 2935 Kwik Sew
photo
Review by Gladys on 8/6/06
Read Review

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6674 Wrap Dress
photo
Review by reethi on 9/7/10
Read Review

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1691 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1691 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us