Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5557 (Misses' Top and Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 339 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:PAMomof3
photo
About PAMomof3star
USA
Member since: 6/14/11
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/12 3:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
I've had this pattern since it first came out. You mentioned the top was too big-- was this the fit in the bust or shoulders? I'm curious because I'm pretty broad shouldered, so I'm trying to decide if its worth it for me to try to make this one.
1/4/12 3:33 PM
PAMomof3 said...
It was in the bust, sort of, although really it was more under the arms (near the armpit area). The shoulders seem large on me (they keep sliding off) but that might be just because I chose the wrong size for the top. I'm pretty broad shouldered too and it would work well for you, I would think, although I'd recommend making the lining first as a muslin just in case. It is quite flattering on the top (very 50's in style).
1/4/12 3:44 PM
karen n said...
Like your description in your blog as the dress from heck! I've had that feeling at times too.
1/4/12 5:26 PM
Kayabunga said...
Kudos to you for your fearless trek into the unknown ... Captain Kirk and I are proud of you. You did a fabulous job on sewing this pattern together and I suspect most of the problems (except the size thing) came from the fabric. With a more user friendly fabric you would have banged this out with half the drama. I've been sewing since dinosaurs were household pets and this fabric still gives me fits. Keep up the great work and your spirit of adventure. Keep the GG dress so you can wear it when you have Chinese delivered ... and just to add to the fun ... your DH could dress up as Samurai ... :)
1/5/12 8:07 AM
Gendun said...
Yes, hats off to you for your ambition! I am a new sewer, and my skills are a joke, but I used to work in fashion & know about pinning for fit. I agree that the fabric was a critical factor in making this so terribly challenging. Also, given how critical perfect fit is in this sort of pattern, you REALLY needed a sewing buddy to help you adjust it. Much as we'd like to, you can't really do this kind of thing by yourself. So don't beat yourself up if it isn't exactly what you wanted. You are a trooper and deserve our respect for even attempting it! Go girl!
3/22/12 3:27 PM
PAMomof3 said...
Thanks for all the comments! They made me smile (more than the outfit did!) I ended up donating the shirt; I just knew I wouldn't wear it. I also somehow or other lost the closure for the skirt when I bent down at work, so I have to fix that too. Never a dull moment!
6/17/12 7:18 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Burda 9691 Dress
photo
Review by inertia on 10/6/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3580 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3580 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5957 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6899
photo
Review by SueT on 7/28/12
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Pocket Purse
Lily Pocket Purse

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us