Online Sewing Class: Sewing Basics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 102 (Thalia Pants)

7 more reviews
Viewed 325 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews: 85 (patterns: 70)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 59 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/8/12 11:27 PM
Last Updated:1/9/12 2:20 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said... (1/10/12 2:23 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for the delightful comments everyone! They really do mean a lot :) Those of you who are thinking of making them - go for it!
Knitters Delight said... (1/10/12 1:50 AM) Reply
Oh my goodness. I love how these turned out!
FreyaStark said... (1/10/12 1:03 AM) Reply
They look great. Well done.
lamstu said... (1/9/12 11:14 PM) Reply
I've admired this pattern for ages - love how you made it work for you so elegantly!
RMJ said... (1/9/12 8:01 PM) Reply
I have a piece of Tencel just waiting to be made into pants like these. Thanks for reviewing - I'm off to buy the pattern.
Laurie Lou said... (1/9/12 5:18 PM) Reply
Thanks for reminding me to make these! Yours turned out great and good to hear they have lots of ease! Love your blouse too!
DorothyK said... (1/9/12 4:05 PM) Reply
I think the pants look great on you. They do have a glamorous look.
marec said... (1/9/12 11:00 AM) Reply
I love this outfit on you. It is sophisticated and very Dietrich "Glamour is what I sell, it's my stock in trade."
AndreaSews said... (1/9/12 9:43 AM) Reply
Love the style & look on you. :)
jenleeC said... (1/9/12 2:15 AM) Reply
Great pants...they look very 'smoking lounge'! All you need now is a string of pearls and a martini!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Other Eyeglass Case

photo
by: Miss Vinta...

Review
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Pattern Details
New Look 6470

photo
by: margy.64

Review