SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewaholic Patterns> 1001 (Pendrell Blouse)

34 more reviews
Viewed 345 times 
Reviewed by:Immelu
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Immelustar
KS USA
Member since: 5/6/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/12 11:22 PM
Last Updated:6/29/14 5:29 PM
Project Photo:Sewaholic Patterns: 1001 by Immelu

Sewaholic Patterns: 1001 by Immelu  Sewaholic Patterns: 1001 by Immelu    
Pattern Photo:Sewaholic Patterns 1001
Sewaholic Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Immelu

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $15.98 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags:
Updated 6/29/14 to add pics of a new green top. More info on the blog and pictures going the right way here: http://fabricthreadclothes.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/a-sewaholic-pendrell-and-another-burda-7062/

Pattern Description: From the sewaholic site: Semi-fitted pullover blouse has princess seams and bias binding at neck and armhole. View A has softly draped pleated sleeves set into princess seams. View B has ruffled cap sleeves and ruffles set into princess seams. View C is sleeveless.

I've made the basic tank version, view C.

Variations:
Silver
purple-ish/black animal print
White/Black animal print
Blue
Pink multi
Ready for Work

I've also worn the top out, with a chain belt slung around my waist for a different look in warmer weather.

Pattern Sizing: 0-16. I made a 6.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes...exactly.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, this is a very easy top to put together. No closures, no facings!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I LOVE this pattern. so far, I've made it 5 times and will probably make it many more. It's quick, goes together perfectly and fits well. I also like that the length is a little long so that it NEVER comes untucked. I also love that it only takes about a yard of fabric...that's fantastic. Note that the pattern lists it requiring 2 yards..I've had no problem with about 1 if it's wide. I have no dislikes.

Fabric Used: For the 5 variations, the silver and blue solids are from Joanns. I forget the name of the fabric, but it's kind of crinkly and very, very light. The purple-ish/black and white/black animal print are both a poly from walmart. The pink multi is actually a stretch woven from Joanns. That one is actually my favorite of the group.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I had to pinch out little bit from the top center front to bring the princess seams in to where they needed to be. I did a super quick muslin before I cut into my better fabric.

Remember to baste the side seams and try on before you sew with a regular stitch to get the fit just right.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Absolutely!

Conclusion: This is a great basic top. I love that I can keep sewing it in different fabrics and most people will never think a thing about it. This pattern is a keeper!
Available for sale on PR: $15.98 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Wow you certainly got your money's worth from this pattern. Nice tops.
1/9/12 11:46 PM
SewWil said...
Great assortment of tops! Good basic pattern to have.
1/10/12 0:58 AM
jenleeC said...
Love all your versions! This looks like the perfect 'under a jacket' top.
1/10/12 1:11 AM
nicegirl said...
You have put this pattern to good use! Looks great on you, in all the variations.
1/10/12 10:20 AM
TJSEWS said...
I love all the variations. So versatile! With the fabrics you chose, they could go dressy, casual or career.
1/10/12 11:46 AM
Cikka said...
Seriously? About a yard? There have been so many times Iu thought of making this (have the pattern) and each time noticed i didn't have enough fabric! Thanks:)
6/30/14 9:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-19

photo
by: dolcevita

Review
Butterick 5682

photo
by: thestitche...

Review

Pattern

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now