SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5603 (misses dress Retro '56)

23 more reviews
Viewed 792 times 
Reviewed by:Julia Bobbin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Julia Bobbinstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/20/10
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/10/12 3:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharonspils said...
WOW, I love this dress and the inspiration dress has been on my noticeboard for ages, just love it.
1/10/12 4:44 AM
silverfern said...
Wow - fabulous Mad Women dress - better than the original. I had looked at this pattern, but was put off by the lack of sleeves, so will use your review to have another look.
1/10/12 4:44 AM
Red Dragon said...
Too cute! Great adaptation.
1/10/12 5:43 AM
tsedai said...
This is so cute! I love it.
1/10/12 5:55 AM
Anne Cherry said...
Beautifully made and styled! The ginghm is perfect for this and it fits you to a T!
1/10/12 6:13 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dress as I said on your blog. Love it!
1/10/12 6:19 AM
SheriF said...
I just watched this episode last night! When I saw your dress this morning, the first thing I thought about was Peggy. I love your modern adaptation. You wear it well. Can't wait to see what comes next....
1/10/12 7:37 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Fabulous! Excellent work.
1/10/12 7:50 AM
no7262 said...
Love love love it! Will you make me a pattern since I can't draft one myself? LOL! This dress looks so wonderful on you! You are very talented! Nora :)
1/10/12 7:55 AM
Christas said...
WOW!!! You have done an amazing job on this dress! I love it! Thanks so much for all the very helpful tips.
1/10/12 9:04 AM
nicegirl said...
Love this! Wonderful interpretation of the original and fit is fantastic. The bias trim at the empire seam is just too cute.
1/10/12 9:53 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Gorgeous! Very Peggy Olson!
1/10/12 10:12 AM
Sadlesor said...
What an adorable dress!
1/10/12 11:15 AM
Dynamo said...
You did an amazing job on this dress!
1/10/12 11:46 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
You nailed it!! Great job and it looks fantastic on you.
1/10/12 12:11 PM
TJSEWS said...
Wow! Wow! Wow!
1/10/12 12:12 PM
pammieh said...
Very sharp dress! Excellent work!
1/10/12 12:54 PM
SewWil said...
Fabulous! I love everything about this dress. Great job!
1/10/12 12:59 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I want one!
1/10/12 1:40 PM
Raye Ann said...
This is fantastic! Every bit a chic as the inspiration dress. Great job!
1/10/12 2:25 PM
ChristineX said...
LOVE the gingham :-)
1/10/12 3:26 PM
Nenewhis said...
This is an amazing design and you should be very proud!! I love vintage designs, and wish the Mad Men series was back on so that I could drool over outfits like these. Well Done!
1/10/12 4:36 PM
JTink said...
What a wonderful dress. I'm crazy about the material
1/10/12 4:44 PM
Lynz said...
That is absolutely gorgeous!
1/10/12 5:43 PM
mm said...
What can I say? It is wonderful.
1/10/12 5:59 PM
Claverie said...
Holy Crap! That's Gorgeous. What a FIT! Beautiful. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT. But I think 25 other people already said that. .. .LOVEIT!
1/10/12 7:43 PM
galadriel45 said...
Quite possibly one of the most successful dresses I have seen on Pattern Review.
1/10/12 10:30 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Absolutely love this adorable dress! Want to make this too, was going to use a Simplicity Project Runway dress as base, thanks for posting
1/11/12 5:20 AM
swany said...
I love this dress and how you redid it. I am looking for something similar for a wedding dress. This will give me inspiration.
1/11/12 9:47 AM
lesliez said...
Very, very cute!
1/11/12 12:41 PM
Julia Bobbin said...
Thank you everyone for your warm and flattering comments. I love this sewing community! :)
1/11/12 3:24 PM
Sassy T said...
Absolutely love this. Would love to make this one day.
1/11/12 6:55 PM
MissLadyAudrey said...
Your dress is amazing!
1/16/12 8:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Emma Top

photo
by: ajhewing

Review
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

Buy Now