Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7799 (Pullover top with shawl collar) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2100 times 43 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/04 7:58 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Very pretty!
10/27/04 8:01 AM
Lisette said...
Both versions are very pretty
10/27/04 8:03 AM
jlg said...
Lovely tops. I love the choice of fabrics.
10/27/04 8:16 AM
Levone said...
Nice tops and love the fabrics that you used for them.
10/27/04 9:30 AM
Eli said...
Hancock is having 75% off their Vogue patterns tomorrow and the next day or two and this pattern goes to my "to buy" list! It looks very stylish!
10/27/04 10:57 AM
Ann Smith said...
Your tops are lovely. Is the wool jersey itchy to wear? I have that fabric but hadn't thought of it as a top. I love yours and may have to copy it.
10/27/04 11:06 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
The more I see this top, the more I love it. I may have to buy it before it disappears. I see it is no longer in the database of the website. Love the fabrics too! How is the fit, is it supposed ot be really closefitting?
10/27/04 11:16 AM
MickeyFan said...
Lorna, the fit is fairly close through the bust. It is not as close through the body. When I made the top out of a knit that was not stretchy enough, the top was too tight across the chest and in the upper arm. I guess those are the areas with the least amount of ease.
10/27/04 12:40 PM
LisaLS said...
Wow, that's a gorgeous top!!
10/27/04 2:31 PM
MickeyFan said...
Ann, the wool is not at all itchy for me, but I know everybody is a little different. I have a friend who can't wear wool anything without breaking out in hives. How sad...wool jersey is a favorite fabric of mine!
10/27/04 2:40 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Oh I remember that wool jersey from EOS ... lucky you! Nice top! Thanks for the one-way stretch warning.
10/27/04 6:02 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I bought this pattern and after seeing your top, I really want one. It's gorgeous. Do you think that a person with a C cup would have to do a FBA? I was planning on morphing the neckline on another pattern, but if the top isn't tight under the bust, this pattern may work for me.
10/27/04 7:09 PM
ClaireC said...
Very pretty tops. I have the fabric you used in the long sleeve version AND the pattern. Guess what I'll be making? ;o)
10/28/04 4:52 AM
Jan B. said...
Both tops are very pretty! Did you prewash the wool jersey so you can wash it now or do you dry clean it?
10/28/04 10:01 AM
MickeyFan said...
Regarding the FBA, it is hard for me to know for sure in your case. I am a small B so I never have to consider it myself. Since it seems snug across the upper chest (not too snug though), you might want to do an adjustment?? I did prewash the jersey in cold water, and for me it did shrink noticeably - don't know the exact shrinkage. I did not dry in the dryer. While I thought I had plenty before washing, I had to get a little creative when I cut it out...almost didn't have enough.
10/29/04 7:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Made the top look different and appealing. I have this pattern but have not made it.
10/29/04 7:56 AM
Tiner W said...
Very Pretty! I have this pattern, but read comments about difficulty fitting. I'm a small B, too, so maybe it'll work for me. Thanks for the review!
10/30/04 8:43 AM
Annette1 said...
I've been reading not only this review, but many others of your reviews, as well. So while I had the BEST INTENTIONS of going to bed early for a change, here I sit, hunched over the computer instead. Your reviews are top-notch, as are your garments. You have a way with words that makes everything you describe very understandable. Not only that, we seem to have very similar tastes in the patterns we choose. I've made several of the same garments you have (albeit in a much l-a-r-g-e-r size)! I look forward to seeing your latest creations.
11/9/05 0:34 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8094
photo
Review by Fran G on 8/28/05
Read Review

McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4675 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1812 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878
photo
Review by momsurfing on 5/19/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us