SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7799 (Pullover top with shawl collar)

43 more reviews
Viewed 2100 times 
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo

 
 
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/27/04 7:58 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Very pretty!
10/27/04 8:01 AM
Lisette said...
Both versions are very pretty
10/27/04 8:03 AM
jlg said...
Lovely tops. I love the choice of fabrics.
10/27/04 8:16 AM
Levone said...
Nice tops and love the fabrics that you used for them.
10/27/04 9:30 AM
Eli said...
Hancock is having 75% off their Vogue patterns tomorrow and the next day or two and this pattern goes to my "to buy" list! It looks very stylish!
10/27/04 10:57 AM
Ann Smith said...
Your tops are lovely. Is the wool jersey itchy to wear? I have that fabric but hadn't thought of it as a top. I love yours and may have to copy it.
10/27/04 11:06 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
The more I see this top, the more I love it. I may have to buy it before it disappears. I see it is no longer in the database of the website. Love the fabrics too! How is the fit, is it supposed ot be really closefitting?
10/27/04 11:16 AM
MickeyFan said...
Lorna, the fit is fairly close through the bust. It is not as close through the body. When I made the top out of a knit that was not stretchy enough, the top was too tight across the chest and in the upper arm. I guess those are the areas with the least amount of ease.
10/27/04 12:40 PM
LisaLS said...
Wow, that's a gorgeous top!!
10/27/04 2:31 PM
MickeyFan said...
Ann, the wool is not at all itchy for me, but I know everybody is a little different. I have a friend who can't wear wool anything without breaking out in hives. How sad...wool jersey is a favorite fabric of mine!
10/27/04 2:40 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Oh I remember that wool jersey from EOS ... lucky you! Nice top! Thanks for the one-way stretch warning.
10/27/04 6:02 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I bought this pattern and after seeing your top, I really want one. It's gorgeous. Do you think that a person with a C cup would have to do a FBA? I was planning on morphing the neckline on another pattern, but if the top isn't tight under the bust, this pattern may work for me.
10/27/04 7:09 PM
ClaireC said...
Very pretty tops. I have the fabric you used in the long sleeve version AND the pattern. Guess what I'll be making? ;o)
10/28/04 4:52 AM
Jan B. said...
Both tops are very pretty! Did you prewash the wool jersey so you can wash it now or do you dry clean it?
10/28/04 10:01 AM
MickeyFan said...
Regarding the FBA, it is hard for me to know for sure in your case. I am a small B so I never have to consider it myself. Since it seems snug across the upper chest (not too snug though), you might want to do an adjustment?? I did prewash the jersey in cold water, and for me it did shrink noticeably - don't know the exact shrinkage. I did not dry in the dryer. While I thought I had plenty before washing, I had to get a little creative when I cut it out...almost didn't have enough.
10/29/04 7:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely fabric. Made the top look different and appealing. I have this pattern but have not made it.
10/29/04 7:56 AM
Tiner W said...
Very Pretty! I have this pattern, but read comments about difficulty fitting. I'm a small B, too, so maybe it'll work for me. Thanks for the review!
10/30/04 8:43 AM
Annette1 said...
I've been reading not only this review, but many others of your reviews, as well. So while I had the BEST INTENTIONS of going to bed early for a change, here I sit, hunched over the computer instead. Your reviews are top-notch, as are your garments. You have a way with words that makes everything you describe very understandable. Not only that, we seem to have very similar tastes in the patterns we choose. I've made several of the same garments you have (albeit in a much l-a-r-g-e-r size)! I look forward to seeing your latest creations.
11/9/05 0:34 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Self Drafted Pattern t-tunic

photo
by: Nikki

Review
Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2012-2

photo
by: Janiki

Review
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now